Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    informing old ISP

    This is a discussion on informing old ISP within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just signed up to sky and it's broadband online . I gave my MAC code ,do i have ...

    1. #1
      jqworle's Avatar
      jqworle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worle
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      informing old ISP

      I have just signed up to sky and it's broadband online .
      I gave my MAC code ,do i have to contact my old ISP to cancel or do sky do it all for me.
      Also as my local exchange is at full capacity i am going on Connect when or if the exchange gets upgraded again will i have first shout at moving to Max or do i have to apply for it, as it will be a good spped jump and a price drop at the same time.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Exclamation Re: informing old ISP

      You Cancel Old Isp Sky Refuse Do It
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 03-11-07 at 07:08 PM. Reason: resized text

    4. #3
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: informing old ISP

      Quote Originally Posted by commandercarr View Post
      You Cancel Old Isp Sky Refuse Do It

      I think his keyboard is faulty.

      You need to inform your old ISP ,i have read many times that not informing them has resulted in them taking payments they are not entitled to.

    5. #4
      madcat's Avatar
      madcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: informing old ISP

      i would agree, definately tell your old isp yourself least then you know its done and you can rest assured.

    6. #5
      jqworle's Avatar
      jqworle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worle
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: informing old ISP

      Any ideas regarding the second part of my post?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: informing old ISP

      Sky will change you over automatically when a space is available, but it does no harm to keep an eye out and remind them if it does not happen. If you are being charged 5 it is likely to be less than 6 months, if you are paying 17, it will be more than 6 months. With regards your speed, this depends on your line. If you move to Mid the speed will be the same or slightly more. Speed on Max depends entirely on what your line can support. If it is a good short line you will get a high speed, if it is long, with a high attenuation, you will get no more than you would on Mid.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jqworle's Avatar
      jqworle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worle
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: informing old ISP

      At present i am with Zen and always sync at 8128 on an 8meg line my router stats are looking good for 16meg if i can eventually get max.

    9. #8
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: informing old ISP

      Don't cancel it until you've been switched over.

      If you cancel it before the migration, the migration may not happen & you could have to go through a cease & reprovide.

    10. #9
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: informing old ISP

      Bt appear to have told some peoples ISP that the customer has now changed ISP's and is with 'Sky' but common sence says...phone your old ISP AFTER you have migrated to make 100% sure or like some people in the forum you may be charged by your old isp.
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    11. #10
      blisteringblue's Avatar
      blisteringblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: informing old ISP

      When I moved from BT I did continue to get charged by BT. However I did notice mid month and rang them up and the refund has just appeared on my last bill.
      Post Sky DLM and after some cowboy contracters and BT ruined my line quality (was 6mb pre DLM):

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION