Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    connection speed max?

    This is a discussion on connection speed max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i`m new to sky i thought i would be getting better download speeds than i am could someone please ...

    1. #1
      steve50's Avatar
      steve50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02477
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      connection speed max?

      Hi i`m new to sky i thought i would be getting better download speeds than i am could someone please look at my stats and see if there is any reason i`m not getting a better download thanks


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6880 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 24.0 16.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 7.9
      Max(Kbps): 10112 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 6880 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 216(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 216 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0737 8.6153
      L: 1736 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 356867 356865
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 24267010 3033352
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 98447490 0
      Data Cells: 218655 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 1 hours 41 min 40 sec
      SF = 356867
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 41 min 40 sec
      SF = 356867
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 40 sec
      SF = 41168
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Have you had problems with your connection before ?
      you are capped to Gdmt and sky will normally do this to ease line errors
      your stats are only for an hour but do not show many errors (running for about a day will show up, if any)

      also what set up do you have (where and how have you plugged the router)

    4. #3
      steve50's Avatar
      steve50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02477
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Thanks for the speedy reply,the router is connected directly to the pc and my other wireless pc is switched off,i`ve never had any disconnection problems in the 3 months that ive had sky,before then i had a non unbundled nildram 8 meg service that delivered faster download speeds than i currenrtly get with sky

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Sorry i had ment the other end connection (router to socket & which socket you are using, master/extention)

      you may have just experienced a noise spike, which has caused the drop out (and lower connection speed on re-sync)

      with your attenuation i would have expected a much higher speed than you have (on Gdmt you should get 8meg sync no problem and on ADSL2+ you would have gotten higher)

      but as you say you have been on for 3 months i assume your home wiring has possibly caused a problem with errors on the line when you first signed up and sky capped you straight away.

      have a look at cabling and faceplate thread for help with your wiring


      P.s all above are for the wired PC only, i am no good with wireless (and led to belive sky wireless is a bit pants)
      just had another thought, what speed are you downloading at (should be about 5meg ish by your stats, if it is much lower and you use XP have a look at last link in my sig, optimizing your connection)
      Last edited by richone54; 01-11-07 at 08:48 PM. Reason: had a thought

    6. #5
      steve50's Avatar
      steve50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02477
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      I`m am connected directly to the master socket my download speeds are fairly constant at about 5.7 meg the stats i`ve posted are very much the same as they have been since i got sky

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      could you do a test for me ?

      if you have a NTE5 master socket unsrew the 2 screws and plug the router (through filter)into the test socket behind with nothing else attached, then switch off the router at the power for a couple of mins and turn back on, once internet connection is back, get some new detailed stats and post back

    8. #7
      scoop's Avatar
      scoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: DGND3700 V2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Above an off Licence!!
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Yes sky wireless is pants, I can vouch for that. !! I was put on the gdmt channel and had such a fight to get them to put me on the adsl2+ one as im on max. My stats all pointed at very good connection but it seems they stick you on the slower channel as soon as your connected. Ive read so many horror stories about people being put on the gdmt channel even though they have very good figures that Im sure sky are just doing it on purpose to see if the customer notices, if they do they change you over if you can get through to tier 3. Ive been here for 4 days and am missing my Pipex connection all ready
      Still for ten pounds a month what did I expect really!! yep monkies!!

      regards
      Scoop

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Quote Originally Posted by scoop View Post
      Yes sky wireless is pants, I can vouch for that. !! I was put on the gdmt channel and had such a fight to get them to put me on the adsl2+ one as im on max. My stats all pointed at very good connection but it seems they stick you on the slower channel as soon as your connected. Ive read so many horror stories about people being put on the gdmt channel even though they have very good figures that Im sure sky are just doing it on purpose to see if the customer notices, if they do they change you over if you can get through to tier 3. Ive been here for 4 days and am missing my Pipex connection all ready
      Still for ten pounds a month what did I expect really!! yep monkies!!

      regards
      Scoop
      most of that is rubbish - Sky set lines over 2KM on gdmt until proven they can take more - we don't sit there and set lines for a laugh!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      scoop's Avatar
      scoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: DGND3700 V2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Above an off Licence!!
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      most of that is rubbish - Sky set lines over 2KM on gdmt until proven they can take more - we don't sit there and set lines for a laugh!!
      Thanks for your kind words!
      When I spoke to tier 3 about my connection problems they told me I was 7km from the exchange which is why they wouldnt put me adsl2+ . 7km was rubbish, 1.6km at the very most and more like just up the street. In fact it is 1.3 km yes as the crow flies but no way was it 7km unless my line was taking the long route round my town and then past the butchers and maybe a couple of pubs!!!!

      Still sorry for ranting on

      Scoop

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: connection speed max?

      Sky have a checker which is total line length so chances are they were right - in which case you're very unlucky!!!

      i didn't mean to sound rude either, just took offence to what you said as if we deliberately muck up lines!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION