Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Continuous disconnections

    This is a discussion on Continuous disconnections within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I would be grateful for your advice I keep getting disconnected from Sky broadband and the router If I ...

    1. #1
      Straythings's Avatar
      Straythings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01437
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Continuous disconnections

      Hi
      I would be grateful for your advice
      I keep getting disconnected from Sky broadband and the router
      If I turn the router off and on connection is restored.
      Each time this happens
      The internet connection status indicates connected
      The local area connection status indicates connected
      However no broadband and I can not log into the router
      The only way to restore connection is to turn the router off and on again
      Another computer connected wirelessly exhibits the same problem; however both computers can communicate through the LAN
      The router stats are attached
      The computer was connected to the router through cat 5 network cable and the router was connected to the master socked
      And as you can see the connections a bit slow never seems to connect higher than 576
      It only took two attempts to get this posted

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 288 Kbps, Downstream rate = 576 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 27.6 19.0
      Attn(dB): 62.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.9 11.6
      Max(Kbps): 3616 872
      Rate (Kbps): 576 288
      G.dmt framing
      K: 19(0) 10
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 19 10
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 160 88
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 13644 13642
      SFErr: 0 2
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 315577 0
      Data Cells: 114 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 13 0
      Total time = 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 13644
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 13644
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 8 sec
      SF = 13644
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      madcat's Avatar
      madcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      how far from the exchange are you, and what speed were you told you would recieve when you ordered please?

    4. #3
      Straythings's Avatar
      Straythings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01437
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      Hi
      Distance as crow do fly 3.06 kilometres
      Was informed download of up to 3.5mbps

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      The high noise margin figure indicates that your connection has been "capped" at 576 kbit/sec. This was probably done when the line was set up, because a lot of interference was detected on the line. Certainly the router seems to think it can do about 3.5 Mbit/sec, but the Sky router is notoriously bad at handling noise and interference on the phone line, which is why Sky are forcing the connection to go slower.

      The bad news is that even with a cap of 576 kbit/sec, your line still isn't good enough for problems not to occur. For something to be that bad, I suspect that it's likely that there is some kind of issue with your home telephone wiring. Do you have telephone extensions in your house? Are you sure you've connected a microfilter to every phone connection and your Sky television box? Have a look around the forum for tips on how to improve your internal telephone wiring.

      Of course, it's possible that the problem is actually between your house and the exchange. Are you fed by an overhead telephone wire, strung out across telegraph poles. Some people in remote locations (an isolated house outside of a built-up area for example) sometimes have phone lines like that, and they are terrible for picking up noise and interference.

    6. #5
      Straythings's Avatar
      Straythings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01437
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      Home telephone wiring disconnected as using master socket. microfilter changed
      Yes fed by an overhead telephone wire, strung out across telegraph poles. (an isolated village outside of any built-up area)
      Sounds like crappy old BT problem then.

    7. #6
      Straythings's Avatar
      Straythings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01437
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      Hi back again
      I have just done a few line checks through various sites BT line check etc. and the results for this phone number are all 0.5mbps.
      Why then do you think that Sky quoted up to 3.5mbps? Ok I knew that was theoretical but to be that far out is that normal

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      I wouldn't say it's normal, but I can see how it could be possible. I believe I'm right in saying that the BT line checker uses not just the estimated attenuation, but also information from overnight line testing, and from other ADSL connections in the vicinity. And because most ISPs are simply offering a rebranded implementation of a BT product, BT effectively have access to the connection speeds of almost everyone in the village who's on broadband, even if they're not actually a BT broadband customer.

      Sky's checker might well just rely on estimated line length, from which it then estimates attenuation and then line speed. This might work well in towns and cities where the wiring is mainly underground, but could potentially be giving estimates which are far too high for people living in isolated villages.

      That's just a guess though.

    9. #8
      Straythings's Avatar
      Straythings is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01437
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      Ok
      But even the Sky line check states
      "Sky Broadband Connect is available where you live
      Your phone line can support download speeds of up to 512 Kb."

      Sorry to go on but so far it has taken ten resets of the router to get these post up so as you might expect getting somewhat annoyed.

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      Quote Originally Posted by Straythings View Post
      Hi
      I would be grateful for your advice
      I keep getting disconnected from Sky broadband and the router
      If I turn the router off and on connection is restored.
      Each time this happens
      The internet connection status indicates connected
      The local area connection status indicates connected
      However no broadband and I can not log into the router
      The only way to restore connection is to turn the router off and on again
      If you can't get to the router menu then it could be the uPNP bug, make sure uPNP is switched off, it is on the front page of the router menu.

    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Continuous disconnections

      Quote Originally Posted by Straythings View Post
      Ok
      But even the Sky line check states
      "Sky Broadband Connect is available where you live
      Your phone line can support download speeds of up to 512 Kb."
      It may well be the case that they are now estimating speeds of up to 512 kbit/sec on the basis of what your connection achieved.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION