Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

    This is a discussion on Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm on ADSL2 Max at the moment and paying 10 for that. I get around 2.9mb speed and am happy ...

    1. #1
      Ciel's Avatar
      Ciel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      I'm on ADSL2 Max at the moment and paying 10 for that. I get around 2.9mb speed and am happy with that. Would that drop if I asked Sky to reduce me to Mid? I'm assuming they still use ADSL2.

      Thinking of moving my line rental (hardly make any calls really) so it would be nice to make a further saving.

      Thanks for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      with your line the only thing that would change is your uplaod speed (768 now, would 416)

      not sure if you can downgrade from max within the first 12 months ?? someone may be able to confirm ?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      no, ADSL2+ is for Max customers only...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      if you dont use the higher upload then mid would be a better package for you. thats if i'm right in assuming the 2.9 is your sync speed. as iante says you would come off adsl2+ and be on gdmt which is good for 8mb. this may give you a more stable connection anyway. as to whether you can downgrade in the first 12 months i'm not sure.


    6. #5
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      No you cannot downgrade in the first year, however you can upgrade lol. Though it is worth checking with Sky as these things tend to change quiet quickly

    7. #6
      Ciel's Avatar
      Ciel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      Thanks for the replies

      I like ADSL2 too much to downgrade as my connection (2.9mb sync on a BT USB modem thanks to SkyUser's forumites) and overall experience with Sky in the last 10-11 months has been the best very good.

      However, I wasn't pleased with the massive price rise (15 to 17 but I reduced it 1 by dropping some naff channels) as I was not informed and I don't care for Sky TV (never even plugged it in) as I don't have the time (although I'd consider upgrading to HD for the standard channels).

      I guess like most I want the best value. 26 to Sky at the moment and I really want to give them my BT line rental too (real free caller ID and one less company to deal with) but I'd like to see a reduction somewhere. Maybe I'm expecting too much. I'll have to wait for Picnic to see what they have.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      you get a better sync on gdmt tbh...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Ciel's Avatar
      Ciel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      Isn't GDMT just plain ADSL? I had that before (with BT and Newnet) but got .9mb less. It was "Upto 8mb".

    10. #9
      machasm's Avatar
      machasm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ciel View Post
      Thanks for the replies

      I like ADSL2 too much to downgrade as my connection (2.9mb sync on a BT USB modem thanks to SkyUser's forumites) and overall experience with Sky in the last 10-11 months has been the best very good.

      However, I wasn't pleased with the massive price rise (15 to 17 but I reduced it 1 by dropping some naff channels) as I was not informed and I don't care for Sky TV (never even plugged it in) as I don't have the time (although I'd consider upgrading to HD for the standard channels).

      I guess like most I want the best value. 26 to Sky at the moment and I really want to give them my BT line rental too (real free caller ID and one less company to deal with) but I'd like to see a reduction somewhere. Maybe I'm expecting too much. I'll have to wait for Picnic to see what they have.
      I think you would be better off downgrading to Mid if you can since it wont make any difference to your current speeds except the upload speed (sending e-mails etc) as already pointed out by richone54.
      The only other difference is the amount of data you can download in a month.
      Max package unlimited (around 250Gb actual)
      Mid package 40Gb limit (though I am not sure how rigorous Sky are at enforcing these limits).
      You would also be saving an extra 5 doing this.
      If you went to the Base package it would be completely 'free' but with a 2Mbit link throttle and a 2Gb download limit.
      If your not even using your sky box though then I would question why your using Sky for your broadband at all?
      Since you are paying 26 p/m for it. There are other providers that can give you a similar package for less.
      mac.

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ciel View Post
      Isn't GDMT just plain ADSL? I had that before (with BT and Newnet) but got .9mb less. It was "Upto 8mb".
      Bt's set up completely differen't to Sky, there is no reason you shouldn't get the same speed on G.DMT, I am on mid and have switch mine to G.DMT using mognuts to improve my line stability and I still get a full 8mb.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION