Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

    This is a discussion on Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm afraid I disagree with some of the previous posters. ADSL2+ uses a wider range of frequencies than ADSL and ...

    1. #11
      ithompson72's Avatar
      ithompson72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chichester
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      I'm afraid I disagree with some of the previous posters.

      ADSL2+ uses a wider range of frequencies than ADSL and it is likely that some of your speed comes from this wider spectrum. If you downgrade there is a risk that you will lose some of that downstream speed. How much you might lose depends on how your connection is spread over those frequencies.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      ithompson72's Avatar
      ithompson72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chichester
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      One question I should have asked - are you certain that you are on ADSL2 rather than them providing Max to you on ADSL1? Sky don't generally give ADSL2 on such low speeds so it may be that you are already on the standard ADSL and therefore a change of package would make no difference to your downstream speeds.

    4. #13
      Ciel's Avatar
      Ciel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      I am happy with SKy [broadband] and I've never plugged the TV box in. When I went with them December last year they were the only people doing ADSL2 but Be now offer that here. As I'm tied in until December I'll decide closer to the time (but I refuse to dial Sky's premium (small 'p') 0870 so may just move to Be online). As things stand (and reading their Picnic email I got last week) it looks like I really would need to want all those TV channels to get the full value from Sky.

      In the last 10 months I think I've had very good value from Sky (even at 26) but not when I can get the same from Be now for 11 less I think.

    5. #14
      machasm's Avatar
      machasm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ciel View Post
      (but I refuse to dial Sky's premium (small 'p') 0870 so may just move to Be online).
      Try this site for alternative numbers.
      Mac

    6. #15
      Ciel's Avatar
      Ciel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      Thanks for that. I gave up on phoning Sky as they kept killing the geographical numbers and freephone numbers (from that site which they must read cos everyone I know does) but it looks like there's a couple of new ones kicking about.

    7. #16
      goalscrounger's Avatar
      goalscrounger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max to Mid -will I keep the same speed?

      You "can't" downgrade from MAX to MID, but I just did with a little bit of perseverance!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION