Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 46

    NEWBIES usual stupid questions

    This is a discussion on NEWBIES usual stupid questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; and you say you spoke to tier 3? I think someone has not recovered from the weekend yet Your problem ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      and you say you spoke to tier 3?
      I think someone has not recovered from the weekend yet

      Your problem is that your extensions are probably causing errors on your connection. These will cause your router to drop it's connection to the exchange and also reduce your speed. I say probably as there is a chance that the errors are being generated on the main line, but as it looks like your wiring has been done by a DIYer, your internal wiring is most likely the culprit. Until you can sort it out, there is not much chance of getting a fast stable connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      this may not help, but when i moved into my house there was no master socket, i had been there for about 2 years before i needed one (when i got broadband). when i phoned up BT to ask about it they said something about being sure and checking (my line come in above front door into a small junction box, then on to other sockets) i had not just missed it, they did send out an engineer who confirmed i did not have one then he fitted it for me (still have the junction box, but now have a master socket in the front room)
      Bt did not charge me for this (i did have a nice engineer, and i did make him lots of tea)

      you could phone Bt and ask them (i would not mention broadband)

    4. #33
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      sorry, saw t3 and jumped to conclusions
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #34
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      this may not help, but when i moved into my house there was no master socket, i had been there for about 2 years before i needed one (when i got broadband). when i phoned up BT to ask about it they said something about being sure and checking (my line come in above front door into a small junction box, then on to other sockets) i had not just missed it, they did send out an engineer who confirmed i did not have one then he fitted it for me (still have the junction box, but now have a master socket in the front room)
      Bt did not charge me for this (i did have a nice engineer, and i did make him lots of tea)

      you could phone Bt and ask them (i would not mention broadband)
      If you do not have a master socket and only have a wired junction box then you can always call BT and ask for an engineer, feign a fault on the line and when they say test the master socket ask them what they are talking about having no master socket is a major PITA for you and for BT when it comes to fault chasing etc.

    6. #35
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Ok guys duty calls..........back to work!

      will consider options and report back as soon as possible

      Oh! I take the translation into english of my problem is that a "fast stable connection" is unlikely until i fix the problems (blimey you learn a new language every day on the net!!!!)

    7. #36
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      I now have a master socket in my house. It is in loft and i am not yet plugged in to it but below are latest stats

      I am reluctant to drill holes in ceiling at this point until I evaluate your comments....

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7040 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.6 18.0
      Attn(dB): 37.0 20.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 7072 936
      Rate (Kbps): 7040 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 221(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 221 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 1776 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 76513 76511
      SFErr: 11721 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 5769 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 21582041 0
      Data Cells: 55251 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 585 0
      SES: 231 0
      UAS: 12 0
      Total time = 21 min 57 sec
      SF = 76513
      CRC = 11721
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 585
      Latest 1 day time = 21 min 57 sec
      SF = 76513
      CRC = 11721
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 585
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 57 sec
      SF = 24583
      CRC = 5503
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 217
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51930
      CRC = 6218
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 368
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      You are showing a large error percentage, the only way you will discover if this is down to your phone line or internal wiring is to plug directly into the TEST socket. I am afraid a hole in the ceiling may be inevitable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      The engineer says he tested the "cab" and it had no probs...
      He mentioned earth was ok....
      He has tidied internal wiring up but I think some unused sockets are still connected
      Would it help if i disconnect unwanted sockets at the faceplate in the room?

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      It will do no harm and may do some good. But, be careful, if your sockets are wired 'daisy chain', disconnecting one socket will disconnect all the others downstream of it. Make sure you note where the wires come from in case you have to replace them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #40
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It will do no harm and may do some good. But, be careful, if your sockets are wired 'daisy chain', disconnecting one socket will disconnect all the others downstream of it. Make sure you note where the wires come from in case you have to replace them.

      ok....

      will be friday beforei get chance.....

      will post then

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION