Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 46

    NEWBIES usual stupid questions

    This is a discussion on NEWBIES usual stupid questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I stopped using Zone Alarm when I changed from Virgin to Sky as I don't think you need it? I ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      I stopped using Zone Alarm when I changed from Virgin to Sky as I don't think you need it?
      I would definitely not stop using a software firewall. The router firewall will help stop any nasties coming in uninvited, but that is all. It will not help if you pick up a trojan which calls back to base with your details. As the original signal came from your PC the router firewall will allow all subsequent requests back in. Windows XP firewall is of no use as it does not monitor outgoing data, Vistas' is a bit better as it can be configured to monitor out and in traffic.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Windows XP firewall is of no use as it does not monitor outgoing data, Vistas' is a bit better as it can be configured to monitor out and in traffic.
      And there was me thinking that nice Mr. Gates' firewall was protecting me! Thanks for the tips - we learn something every day!

    4. #23
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should sync at about twice that speed, but you have lots of errors, this could be due to using an extension so you should try to plug in to the Test socket. If this is physically impossible, try disconnecting the Ring wire from your sockets, especially the Master socket. It is usually the orange or orange/white one connected to terminal 3. Do not move the wires from Terminals 2 and 5 as these are your signal wires.

      sorry for the delay.

      Just disconnected T3 and redone stats.....

      Any better?

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4160 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.5 18.0
      Attn(dB): 37.0 21.0
      Pwr(dBm): 18.9 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 4192 932
      Rate (Kbps): 4160 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 131(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 131 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 1056 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 45310804 45310802
      SFErr: 693845 248
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 232336 118
      OCD: 446 4
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 3262190029 0
      Data Cells: 70137520 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 68457 0
      SES: 12346 0
      UAS: 12 0
      Total time = 1 days 21 hours 58 min 36 sec
      SF = 45310804
      CRC = 693845
      LOS = 494
      LOF = 0
      ES = 68457
      Latest 1 day time = 21 hours 58 min 36 sec
      SF = 4653820
      CRC = 22023
      LOS = 51
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4276
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 36 sec
      SF = 48049
      CRC = 30
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 21
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082263
      CRC = 26175
      LOS = 62
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4786
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7

    5. #24
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      OOOOOOOOOOOOOps!!!!!!!!!

      did not realise _ I copied last set.... Doh!

      Try again......

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5312 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 4.6 19.0
      Attn(dB): 38.0 21.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.1
      Max(Kbps): 5344 976
      Rate (Kbps): 5312 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 167(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 124 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 1000 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 532421 532419
      SFErr: 85016 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 46971 0
      OCD: 8 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 113299532 0
      Data Cells: 88317 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5121 0
      SES: 1707 0
      UAS: 152 0
      Total time = 23 hours 44 min 51 sec
      SF = 5013746
      CRC = 87200
      LOS = 49
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5121
      Latest 1 day time = 23 hours 44 min 51 sec
      SF = 5013746
      CRC = 87200
      LOS = 49
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5121
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 51 sec
      SF = 52460
      CRC = 24515
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 671
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1096
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 227
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 6970
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 331
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 5577
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 440
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 19007
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 457

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      It does not look good. I am afraid you are going to have to get plugged in directly to your Master socket, the Test socket if you have one. You can sit the router close to the socket and use an long ethernet cable to connect to your PC or use a long ADSL cable to connect from the socket to the router position. The long ethernet cable will give you the better results. I know it is not easy but ethernet cable can be up to 100metres long without any discernible drop in efficiency, so a suitable route can probably be found.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It does not look good. I am afraid you are going to have to get plugged in directly to your Master socket, the Test socket if you have one. You can sit the router close to the socket and use an long ethernet cable to connect to your PC or use a long ADSL cable to connect from the socket to the router position. The long ethernet cable will give you the better results. I know it is not easy but ethernet cable can be up to 100metres long without any discernible drop in efficiency, so a suitable route can probably be found.
      I had to go in the loft to disconnect wires as advised....

      there is no master socket

      ...........there is the black cable in, followed by a small junction box out of which is then a normal extension type socket.....
      It looks like the property had two seperate lines at one time because there are actually two of these....
      the one in use then has several cables going to variuos rooms around the house.

      When you say it does not look good, what do you mean?
      what would you suggest?
      to me my connection is noticeably quicker since disconnecting the T3 wiring...

      thank you for your help so far

    8. #27
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Lymmranger View Post
      I had to go in the loft to disconnect wires as advised....

      there is no master socket

      ...........there is the black cable in, followed by a small junction box out of which is then a normal extension type socket.....
      It looks like the property had two seperate lines at one time because there are actually two of these....
      the one in use then has several cables going to variuos rooms around the house.

      When you say it does not look good, what do you mean?
      what would you suggest?
      to me my connection is noticeably quicker since disconnecting the T3 wiring...

      thank you for your help so far
      It sounds like you have some DIY wiring in your loft which may be causing the problem. After the small junction box, does the normal extension type socket have a Telecom or BT logo on it? If so, then this could be the original master socket. Try plugging a telephone into it and dial 17070 which will give your telephone number if this is still connected.

      Is the one in use with all the extension wiring connected to this socket? If so then you may have a second master socket piggy backed on to the original.

      Ideally you should have an NTE5 master socket connected directly to the incoming line (black cable). Your extensions should be run from the NTE5 master with only terminals 2 & 5 connected.

      You have reduced your line noise by disconnecting the ring wire from terminal 3 but there are still a lot of errors which need sorting to resolve the issue. You may need to get BT in to rewire the master socket correctly.

    9. #28
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by eyemdee View Post
      It sounds like you have some DIY wiring in your loft which may be causing the problem. After the small junction box, does the normal extension type socket have a Telecom or BT logo on it? If so, then this could be the original master socket. Try plugging a telephone into it and dial 17070 which will give your telephone number if this is still connected.

      Is the one in use with all the extension wiring connected to this socket? If so then you may have a second master socket piggy backed on to the original.

      Ideally you should have an NTE5 master socket connected directly to the incoming line (black cable). Your extensions should be run from the NTE5 master with only terminals 2 & 5 connected.

      You have reduced your line noise by disconnecting the ring wire from terminal 3 but there are still a lot of errors which need sorting to resolve the issue. You may need to get BT in to rewire the master socket correctly.
      .........I assume this would be chargeable

      ....and there is definately no master socket, I am not an expert but i do know that masters have alot more cicuitry inside than my boxes

      Do these "errors" account for my "on/off" type experience????
      I seem to have gained nearly a gig of speed though?????

    10. #29
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      and you say you spoke to tier 3? i doubt that as you're on Connect and tier 2 deal with them...IF you did speak to tier 3 they wouldn't have done anything to adjust speed as its BT's hardware which Sky have no access to - all Sky can do is log a fault to BT...

      as mentioned above you need to get BT out to install a proper master socket - and unfortunately cost falls on you
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #30
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NEWBIES usual stupid questions

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      and you say you spoke to tier 3? i doubt that as you're on Connect and tier 2 deal with them...IF you did speak to tier 3 they wouldn't have done anything to adjust speed as its BT's hardware which Sky have no access to - all Sky can do is log a fault to BT...

      as mentioned above you need to get BT out to install a proper master socket - and unfortunately cost falls on you

      Ok......... erm did i mention Tier 3???????? (- terminal3)

      Will look into master socket asap

      Please could someone explain (newbie remember) what all this means...

      .........Her indoors is starting to worry that the house is sinking!

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION