Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Moved Home no mid package

    This is a discussion on Moved Home no mid package within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi My friends have just moved home, before moving they had Sky+,Sky talk and Sky Broadband mid package they had ...

    1. #1
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Moved Home no mid package

      Hi
      My friends have just moved home, before moving they had Sky+,Sky talk and Sky Broadband mid package they had asked to have all services transferred to new address, told no problem. They have moved to my exchange area I have Sky mid package
      All went well with the move until they tried to access Sky Broadband although all four lights are on the router there is no internet access, so they phoned sky. Sky say that there are no lines available from BT on sky broadband free, mid, max packages on that exchange, but they could take out a connect package at 17 pounds a month. Is this the only option, with sky available to them or should they be offered their original mid 5 package as it does not seem good customer service
      Last edited by Robbo; 15-11-07 at 10:52 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Hi, it does seem a bit unfair, but if there is no spare capacity then there is nothing sky can do apart from offer them connect. It would be even more unfair to take someone else on that exchange off their package so they could offer it to your friends ( this could be you !! )


    4. #3
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      There is no way for this to be overridden - if the 'computer says no' (or rather, connect) then your friend will have to pay the 17pm if they want Sky BB.
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

    5. #4
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Can I assume that a connect package is a BT package they are offering first six months 8.95 presently what about a waiting list for any availability or if any future extra capacity is possible a waiting list nothing like that available? looks like Sky will be losing them to Virgin at this rate

    6. #5
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Interesting, I've not seen that offer before. Once the exchange is upgraded they will be transferred over automatically, but this could be 2 months, it could be 20...
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

    7. #6
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Visit BT.com there it is. first SIX months 8.95 therafter 17.99 18 month contract. Virgin are offering 4.50 a month if you take a phoneline as well

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Quote Originally Posted by TSx View Post
      Interesting, I've not seen that offer before. Once the exchange is upgraded they will be transferred over automatically, but this could be 2 months, it could be 20...
      I may have misunderstood this but as robbo is on the mid package I assumed the exchange had been unbundled but there is no space left for his friends. I have no idea what skys plans are to upgrade exchanges that have already been unbundled, but I would assume they would do it based on the demands at each individual exchange, if this is the case then as you say it could be 2 months or 20


    9. #8
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Yes Dholdi you are correct. unbundled but no capacity, unless you are willing to pay over three times the amount that you were paying previously then there is capacity this is the point I am trying to make.
      By the way is the internet light is on. doesnt that mean there is a connection to somewhere moving the mouse over the taskbar icon it says connected but only Local not local and internet

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      Its not a question of having to pay 3 times more then there is capacity. The connect package that your friend has been offered is a "rebadged" bt product. Sky resell this service when the exchange has not been unbundled or in your friends case when skys llu equipment is full.


    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved Home no mid package

      By the way is the internet light is on
      I am not certain, but I think this means that the line has been enabled for ADSL and could be 'tagged', which possibly means more problems for your friend.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION