Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

    This is a discussion on SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi ps forgive if this sounds silly! I am currently on Aol plat and have just got my MAC and ...

    1. #1
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      Hi ps forgive if this sounds silly!
      I am currently on Aol plat and have just got my MAC and so i am just about to join SKY on the see/speak/surf Max 16mb unltd connection. But before i commit i need to know will i loose my BB connection whilst waiting for the SKY? I know not to cancle Aol until sky has been confirmed but having just been told there is a 30 connection fee, i am now concerned the line may need switching over to LLU! I have tried to check my line via LLU tester but i keep getting errors so i am thinking i must be on std ADSL, ive read on this forum about long waits! Am i worrying about nothing
      MANY MANY THANKS

      Ps is there anything else i need to do/ask before i commit ps?
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      Hi i think your questions have been answered by our experts in your previous thread. Its up to you to decide whats best for you now?

    4. #3
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      You dont understand me! What i need to know is now that i have been told by Sky i can get Max (was told NO Max by Sky before only could get connect)) Will i loose my current connection if my line gets switched to LLU. If so how long will it be PS?
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      you prob will lose it, but honestly cant say for how long. IF you're on AOL LLU then that has to be ceased completely before Sky can go on - which is about 2 weeks from a scratch order (i think, dont quote me)

      prob best to see if TSx pops up as he'll prob know
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      i am now concerned the line may need switching over to LLU! I have tried to check my line via LLU tester but i keep getting errors so i am thinking i must be on std ADSL, ive read on this forum about long waits! Am i worrying about nothing
      If you are getting Max you will be going on Sky's LLU. What LLu tester were you using?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      %Thanks for that!

      I used the link on isitme thread http**test.speedtester.bt.com:50301] that was getting test errors so i decided to phone Sky once more to see if i could get max {was told twice last week by sky No Max only connect} When he mentioned a 30 connection charge thats when i got concerned. I did ask the guy would i loose my BB for anytime but he said NO! (would he know if i was LLU or not) Just i thought i would put it to you guys before i commited as you never know with these Co's.
      Fact is i really cannot be without a BB line for more than 2 days as i work from home via BB.
      Thanks again Guys!
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 19-10-07 at 06:13 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      I used the link on isitme thread,
      That link was for BT's speed tester, not an LLU one, you will get errors if you are on LLU. Unfortunately, nobody can guarantee anything for you. If you depend on it for work then you shouldn't really be considering it as Sky's service is purely for domestic use. You should really consider a business account with another ISP

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      Thanks again,

      I dont need it for work as such its just i sell on ebay and cannot be w/out a BB line!
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      Well, to give you a straight answer, it looks like you are currently on an LLU line with AOL, and if you were to move to Sky, you would be put on an LLU line with them. Unfortunately, that does mean you'll be without broadband for about a week-and-a-half to two weeks.

      I understand a system for moving people quickly between LLU providers is being trialled at the moment and when that system is rolled out nationwide, you'll be able to change with only about 15-30 minutes downtime. But for now, you'd be looking at quite a long wait without broadband.

    11. #10
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Max/ Noobie Needs Help about LLU/ Loss of BB

      LLU mac codes work, and have done so for some time - providing you pay your line rental to BT. I would try using a mac code first and the worst that can happen is the order rejects...
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION