Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    No Router Shown in Network Connections

    This is a discussion on No Router Shown in Network Connections within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No Router Shown in Network Connections Sometimes the router is shown but more often than not it is not. Does ...

    1. #1
      dl.shaw's Avatar
      dl.shaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Router Shown in Network Connections

      No Router Shown in Network Connections

      Sometimes the router is shown but more often than not it is not.

      Does anybody know why?

      When the router is not shown I can still get Internet connection providing of course I unplug and replug the power to the router.

      In addition I have just fitted the ADSL Nation XTE-2005 Master Faceplate to try to cure my disconnection problems which can vary from two minutes connection time to 15 to 20 minutes maximum.

      Guess what, there has been no improvement in my disconnection problem. If I unplug and replug the power to the router it re-establishes Internet connection but only for 20 minutes at the most.

      The first router supplied was DOA and this one worked okay for a few months but recently the disconnection problem has got far worse.

      The router is connected right next to the BT master socket by the short cable now plugged into the ADSL nation master faceplate and my computer connects wirelessly.

      Could the router be on its way out?

      I live in Milton Keynes. Well, somebody has to and itís not all that bad really!

      Any advice would be grateful received.

      Regards,

      David Shaw




    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: No Router Shown in Network Connections

      Sounds like the UPnP bug that's a "feature" of the Sky/Netgear router.

      In the address bar of your browser (IE) type 192.168.0.1 and a login box for the router should appear. Type admin and the password sky .

      You should then see the Netgear router setup program -- find UPNP and turn it off.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: No Router Shown in Network Connections

      You should really try a wired connection to establish whether the problem is related to the line or your wireless connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      dl.shaw's Avatar
      dl.shaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Router Shown in Network Connections

      Wireless or wired, the connection problem is just as bad.

      I'll try turning off the UPnP.

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: No Router Shown in Network Connections

      If it is just as bad wired, have you checked your detailed stats to see if your line has problems? If your line is clean, then it is almost definitely down to your router or problems at the exchange. Post your stats for some comments.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION