Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 43

    Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

    This is a discussion on Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; A couple of years ago we were on UKONLINE, and we hated them, we was once offline for a week ...

    1. #1
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      A couple of years ago we were on UKONLINE, and we hated them, we was once offline for a week and millions of problems (Well okay, not millions) but we called them "UKOFFLINE".

      I knew when I signed up to Sky Broadband that they used the same Easynet Network, but I thought it would of have improved, I am wrong.

      My connection half dies all the time, I can go on MSN but not view websites, this happens with BOTH Sky's DNS and OpenDNS, and on all of our computers, so this isn't a problem with my computer, However MSN does die, and when it dies it signs in and out like it's doing the hokey poky.

      Sky limiting you to THEIR router is awful, I know you can use your own but your breaching the T&C.

      If I could get out of my contract I would, but I know I cannot.

      If I bothered to ring Sky, I know the first thing they will do is cap my connection speed FURTHER, I am already with 3Mb (4Mb if lucky).

      I just tried logging in my Gmail account just then and it took ages, it even recommended that I loaded it in HTML that's how slow it was.

      I just wanted a small rant, I really dislike Sky Broadband, If 1) You could use your own router, and, 2) There was NO long line problems with BT, I am sure Sky would be great.

      But for people with long lines, AVOID!

      Here are my stats anyway.


      Code:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime  Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3928 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			G.DMT
      Channel:		Interleave
      Trellis:		ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	7.1		13.0
      Attn(dB):	59.0		31.5
      Pwr(dBm):	19.4		12.5
      Max(Kbps):	5536		1088
      Rate (Kbps):	3928		768
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		155(0)		25
      R:		16		16
      S:		1		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		1		1
      B:		132		25
      M:		1		8
      T:		1		1
      R:		16		16
      S:		1.1203		8.6153
      L:		1064		208
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		4859542		4859540
      SFErr:		454966		72
      RS:		330448874		41306090
      RSCorr:		300779902		1986
      RSUnCorr:	1547246		0
      
      HEC:		419963		38
      OCD:		112		40
      LCD:		0		4
      Total Cells:	958254507		0
      Data Cells:	18195392		0
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		30111		0
      SES:		11773		0
      UAS:		124		0
      Total time = 1 days 1 hours 44 min 55 sec
      SF  = 5441772
      CRC = 551989
      LOS = 1849
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 30111
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 44 min 55 sec
      SF  = 370278
      CRC = 1863
      LOS = 78
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 594
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 55 sec
      SF  = 52637
      CRC = 1368
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 170
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 116
      LOS = 20
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 94
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF  = 5071494
      CRC = 550126
      LOS = 1771
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 29517
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52989
      CRC = 81
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 76
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52931
      CRC = 77
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 73
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 114
      LOS = 27
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 76
      Regards
      Blue.

      EDIT: It takes about 30secs to load a page on here
      Last edited by bluecandylover; 13-10-07 at 07:10 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      Sorry to hear of your problems.

      Have you tried the obvious things, like turning off your UPnP?

      SkyUser - How to turn off UPnP

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 13-10-07 at 07:16 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      u have lots and lots of errors which could [and probably is your problem]try master socket etc get rid of any phone extensions and try with ethernet cable instead ,i had very similar stats as u had constant disconections etc but i found out that 95% was my house internal wiring and the other 5 % was because of a bt cable as it entered the house [case was cracked allowing moisture/damp into it and causing problems ,
      also my company have used easynet for years and have always had stable connection even b4 sky took them over [business may be diffrent standard from home account ]

    5. #4
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      It is plugged in master socket, even in the test socket, with a telephone cable about 0.5 metres long!

      And yes I am using Ethernet.


      Regards

    6. #5
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      When did you start your contract?

    7. #6
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      your bt line must be very poor then going with your stats [do u get hissing etc when on phone ? also have u changed your filter to see if that helps?? get onto sky and complain ,can u extract ur mac from the sky router and try it on another router [t&c say u cant ]but it will let you know if it is the router and not a seperate line problem

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      Quote Originally Posted by bluecandylover View Post
      It is plugged in master socket, even in the test socket, with a telephone cable about 0.5 metres long!

      And yes I am using Ethernet.


      Regards
      why the telephone cable ?


    9. #8
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      I started my contract on April

      And yes we do hear hissing and crackling on the line.

      Regards
      Blue

    10. #9
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      why the telephone cable ?
      You know what I mean, the modem cable, it's very simlar to a telephone cable, but IT IS a modem cable.

      Regards.
      Blue

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky/UKONLINE = Worst ISP I have found!

      if you use a corded phone and use this in the test socket (on its own) and you still hear the hissing, this would mean you have a line problem which is down to BT

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION