Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Speed Like A Yo-Yo

    This is a discussion on Speed Like A Yo-Yo within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just a quickie on this one. When Sky set you up, there wont be a specific cap on your download ...

    1. #11
      KeefeFox's Avatar
      KeefeFox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Cheam
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just a quickie on this one. When Sky set you up, there wont be a specific cap on your download speed, other than the service your paying for. If you signed up for Sky Max, then you could be downloading at 16 meg.

      Sky seem to have been finding that if they cap your download speed somewhat lower than your maximum speed, then your system becomes more stable.

      When my router was connecting at 15323 kbps, it was getting download speeds between 8meg and 49k, which was crazy. It is now capped at just under 14,000 kbps and I'm still getting 7-8 meg, and it does seem more stable.

      They only capped it last night, so we'll have to wait and see.

      Keith


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes can download at whatever speed you are capable of, it would seem to be the case that some people do become unstable when maxing out there connection so slowing you down makes sense.

      I have to be honest I am lucky as I have maxed mine out to 1.45MB/s with s few 50MB test files and its very stable.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #13
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi guys,


      ok i'm hooked into my Test socket, hidden in behind the master.

      Test 1:

      Downstream 2,635.1 Kbps ( = 2.6 Mbps )
      Upstream 374.9 Kbps ( = 0.4 Mbps )

      Test 2:

      Downstream 1,849.8 Kbps ( = 1.8 Mbps )
      Upstream 375.0 Kbps ( = 0.4 Mbps )

      Both done from ASDLGuide.org.uk about 5 mins apart... oh i'll do another now because i didn't close the browser inbetween tests. Just incase that makes a diff.

      Test 3:

      Downstream 2,700.3 Kbps ( = 2.6 Mbps )
      Upstream 374.5 Kbps ( = 0.4 Mbps )


      hhmmm...

      ADSL Link...Downstream..Upstream
      Con Spd.....8128 kbps....448 kbps
      Line Atten..20.0 db........12.0 db
      Ns Margin...14.2 db........24.0 db

      does that look much different than before? (Can't scroll down far enough to see)

      *Scratches head*


      Time to call Sky again i think...

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Do you have an ftp client if you do the try a test download from this ftp server

      ftp.mirror.ac.uk//edunfs/mirrors/sites/ftp.freebsd.org/ftp/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/ISO-IMAGES/6.1/

      download the 25MB file and see what you get.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hiya,


      I don't... well didn't have a FTP client... but i've just downloaded ACE 3 FTP from download.com.

      I really don't know what i'm doing though.
      I can browse through the pre set server lists and understand how it works generaly but i don't know how to connect into the link you gave me.


      Done an other test in the mean time btw..

      Downstream 5,688.6 Kbps ( = 5.6 Mbps )
      Upstream 375.9 Kbps ( = 0.4 Mbps )

      Ahh for some stability...

    7. #16
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hold on 1 sec... i figured it out... brb

      Edit
      Ok back,
      i have a CD-ROm image that i can't open lol
      It d/l'd at about 400-460 Kb/s
      Last edited by SteCole77; 14-09-06 at 08:45 PM.

    8. #17
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      You could just use firefox, if that is your browser, and click on the links. Not sure about IE though...

    9. #18
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      *Looks arround to see if anyone noticed*

      lol when it said 'image'... it didn't mean picture!

      I d/l aVirtual CD manager and then realised what i was looking at.. hehee...



      Anyway... it d/l at a reasonable speed but my connection is just so unstable..

      I will try the MTP settings in my router and see what happends.

      Edit

      They where both set to 1500... i ran the MTU test in the Optimizer and it said to put it at that.
      Last edited by SteCole77; 14-09-06 at 09:04 PM.

    10. #19
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      LOL

      You will get there in the end
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #20
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      lol... thats true i guess... probably look like your avatar by then though!

      I'll have to buy 2 sets of Stenna stair lifts!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION