Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Is this bad?

    This is a discussion on Is this bad? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had continuous problems with Sky BB since I had it a month or so ago. The connection dropping is ...

    1. #1
      Jerec's Avatar
      Jerec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: The 16mb one!
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this bad?



      I've had continuous problems with Sky BB since I had it a month or so ago.

      The connection dropping is horrendous, I turn the router on and then I have to restart it minutes later as its timed out!

      Each socket has a MF and I only use the Router on what I believe is the Master socket, which is also the Test socket.

      Now I haven't a clue about noise margins and Attenuation etc but from what I've seen people say, my stats look terrible, could this be the root cause?

      Any help would be most helpful.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is this bad?

      Hi

      Try this

      SkyUser - How to turn off UPnP

      The stats don't look to bad.

      ADSL2+ Speed Test
      We estimate your line is capable of between 3mb to 4mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      SkyUser - ADSL2 Line Speed Checker - upto 24mb




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Jerec's Avatar
      Jerec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: The 16mb one!
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad?

      Hi,

      UPNP is already off, I figure the constant signalling might be causing a problem but its not that.

      Its done it again tonight, it will just freeze and then timeout, but the wireless connection between the PC and Router remains ok and it says its still connected.

      I never had this issue with other ISPs, could it be the router?

    5. #4
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Is this bad?

      Jerec!

      Welcome to SkyUser


      Your downstream attenuation is pretty poor, so you won't really get much more speed than you have at the moment. Can't do anything to reduce attenuation, apart from move closer to the exchange!

      With such a low sync speed due to the high attenuation, I would've thought you'd have a higher downstream noise margin than you actually have.


      The test socket is hidden *behind* the removable faceplate on the BT master socket (assuming you have an NTE-5 master). The test socket bypasses all the extension wiring. If you have the router in the master, but are still using other sockets for other things, then I assume you're not using the actual test socket?

      Have a look at:

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket


      If your own internal wiring is causing noise & hence a poor noise margin & dodgy connection, then using the test socket should show improvements due to it cutting out all the extension wiring etc. Helps rule out whether it's a problem with your wiring (your responsibility), or with the line itself (BT's problem).

      Bit more here:

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help



      Also, this is really worth a read, lots of advice & info on noise margin, attenuation, etc. -

      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained



      You could also check out this, & then post back your detailed router stats using the normal connection you use, & using the test socket:

      PLEASE READ FIRST: How to obtain and post router stats



      If it's your wiring, there are various things you can do, like remove the ring wire (no need, just causes noise), fit a filtered faceplate to the master socket (cheap & easy), etc.
      Last edited by Tezcatlipoca; 10-10-07 at 11:53 PM.

    6. #5
      Jerec's Avatar
      Jerec is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: The 16mb one!
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad?

      Cheers mate, small world eh!

      I'll maybe see if I can cap my speed a bit lower, as this may help I think.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION