Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    McAfee freezing my PC

    This is a discussion on McAfee freezing my PC within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Installed the mc afee abtivirus from the sky disc today and now my pc is inoperable. not long after logging ...

    1. #1
      stransky's Avatar
      stransky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      McAfee freezing my PC

      Installed the mc afee abtivirus from the sky disc today and now my pc is inoperable.
      not long after logging onto windows my cursor doesnt work for anything and after clicking round a few times i hear a beep from my pc and everything freezes. I there isnt enough time before the freeze to remove mcafee either. I hope this is common problem with a solution.
      Any suggestions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      Try starting your pc in safe mode, then remove mcafee perhaps?

    4. #3
      liam22's Avatar
      liam22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: winsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      winsford
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      when we first installed sky, my dad installed mcafee on his machine and it did exactly the same, i do beleive its common ****. lo, excuse my language

    5. #4
      zodiaceuk's Avatar
      zodiaceuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRETO - Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Northamptonshire
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      McAfee isn't great there are far better programs out there.
      Try Windows Live OneCare for example
      Windows Live OneCare - Home

      It's a Firewall, Anti-Virus, Backup and Tune-Up all in one!

      It's currently avalible for 90 days trial free
      and only costs 37.99 per year for a licence that covers 3 computers.

      I'm trying it out at the moment but so far I've had no problems with it, No system memory clogs etc, it just run quietly keeping my pc safe

      I also run Advanced WindowsCare as well
      Advanced WindowsCare Personal - Reviews and free Advanced WindowsCare Personal downloads at Download.com

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      You could always use Avast like myself, it has daily updates and best off all it is completely free.

    7. #6
      zodiaceuk's Avatar
      zodiaceuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRETO - Great Oakley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Northamptonshire
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      You could always use Avast like myself, it has daily updates and best off all it is completely free.
      You could, but running seperate firewall + anti-virus + adware programs take up system resources which could be used on something else.

      I've not bought OneCare as yet, not sure if I'm willing to pay lol
      but it's worth downloading the free trial, see what you think of it!

      For free tools though i'd recommend ZoneAlarm as the Firewall.

    8. #7
      ebacardi's Avatar
      ebacardi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      I also found McAfee to be really bad.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      big thumbs up from me for McAfee - 7 years with not one issue!!

      must be a rarity tho...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      I use Sygate and NOD. Would not touch Crapafee!

    11. #10
      blisteringblue's Avatar
      blisteringblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee freezing my PC

      Another vote for Avast here, wouldn't touch any of the big boys (McAfee, Symantec etc) with a barge pole, too system intensive.

      If your machine is struggling anyway I wouldn't both with a 3rd party firewall or spyware app, just too much trouble for me.

      I just stick with Windows XP Firewall (does it's job) and you are behind the Netgear firewall anyway. I also have Windows Defender happily running away in the background and touch wood, no virus or spyware on my machine (Kids obviously banned from it )
      Post Sky DLM and after some cowboy contracters and BT ruined my line quality (was 6mb pre DLM):

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION