Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    need help!!

    This is a discussion on need help!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok I'm a complete noob when it comes to IT i'm afraid, I have read quite a bit of the ...

    1. #1
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face need help!!

      Ok I'm a complete noob when it comes to IT i'm afraid, I have read quite a bit of the site and seen others with similiar problems to me but found due to my lack of knowledge i am left confused.

      I have have connection problems for quite some time where my netgear modem decided to lose the internet aswell as gaming. tried contacting sky multiple times but never fixed it.Decieded to use a third party modem. Internet now works fine though still suffer from disconnects while trying to play EVE (Only game currently playing).

      I have noticed people able to list their connection speeds, ping rates an such here for other to read and give advise. Like i say complete noob here. How do you do these??

      Any advise would be great.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: need help!!





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: need help!!

      here we go. my stats

      System Up Time 00:17:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      LAN 10M/100M 503 1118 0 154 95 00:17:41
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4800 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 3.7 db 13.0 db

      I hope this helps

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      Your Noise Margin of 3.7db is a BIIIIGGG problem. anything below 7db and your connection will become unstable.

      Have a read of this: Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained


      and also see the link in my sig about trying the master socket.

    6. #5
      moob's Avatar
      moob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      reddwarfcrew:

      Just wanted to mention - I don't think Sky now accept emails to 'broadbandcustomerservice@bskyb.com' - I tried it the other day and they simply sent me a message back to tell me to use the proforma on their site.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      ^^^^^^^^^^
      I can confirm that. The annoying thing was I got an auto reply saying it would be attended to, then 3 days later got another saying they had received it but not read it. Please use the web form!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      I'm even more confused now. These are the results for the master socket.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1404 1001 0 393 812 00:06:58
      LAN 10M/100M 1504 2079 0 1322 575 00:07:50
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5216 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 3.5 db 14.0 db

      All i have is a filter with my phone line in it with the modem,

      Any help would be appreciated.

    9. #8
      unity's Avatar
      unity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      Have you removed the front part of the master socket and plugged into the socket behind that one? If so, I would ask for a line test to be done from your I.S.P Leave the front part off whilst the test is being done to avoid any charges
      Last edited by unity; 09-10-07 at 11:12 PM.

    10. #9
      DEXmachina's Avatar
      DEXmachina is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      you'd have more luck asking BT to perform a line test to see if your line is capable of recieving a good braodband connection. if you wanted sky to do it you'd have to go through all the troubleshooting and be esceladed to tier3 which can take ages.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      First? Are you using the Sky router? If you are not plug it in and use it. The utilities on this site are aimed at the Netgear so if you are not using it, it makes it difficult to interpret your stats. Different routers show the stats in different ways. Secondly, if you are not using the standard router, Sky will not be able to help you.

      You must post your full detailed stats if anyone is going to be able to help you. To do this go HERE next to 'Get detailed stats' press the 'Get' button. When the next page opens, put in the username/password, admin/sky, then press the browser back button, press the 'Download' button at the bottom and save the file as Word Pad or Word, don't use notepad. Copy and paste the result into the forum. Make sure you get all of it.

      To get anything meaningful you must run for a few hours, 24 preferably, doing as much downloading as you can. Plug the router into the Test socket, behind the Master socket faceplate. You can plug an ordinary phone into the phone side of the filter, but don't use a dect phone as these can cause problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION