Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    need help!!

    This is a discussion on need help!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Isitme, I have been plugging back in the netgear modem for the stats but then going back to my other ...

    1. #11
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: need help!!

      Isitme, I have been plugging back in the netgear modem for the stats but then going back to my other modem as it holds connection 100% better than sky's own when i am surfing the internet.

      I'll do my best to get the full stats for you in the next 24 hours. does the fact that my netgear modem disconnects regularly going to interfere with the stats? Usually i can still get up the server page (192.168.0.1) when IE doesn't work.

      I will try to download stuff but as my connection falls regularly it does make this very trickey

      will post again shortly.

      Thanks for your help guys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      Sorry for the delay in getting back to you guys.

      Had BT round Friday and tested the line and noise level has reduced some what using the master plug ( has been left here ever since)

      Have been having a nightmare with the damned modem, had in running for the last 33 hours continuously to find computer would not connect to internet what so ever. I could get to router screen but that was it.
      In the end had to reset the stupid modem and boom it works perffectly again.... but no stats anymore

      Have downloaded a stats program from this site this morning (6am) so will post the full stats tomorrow night.

      Will probably not have any net connection when i get home again so will have to watch more crap tv for third night on the trot.

      Aint it grate when IT equipment works well

    4. #13
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      Finally i have my full stats, this is running from the test line connection in the master socket.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5408 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 14.0
      Attn(dB): 51.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 11.3
      Max(Kbps): 6016 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 5408 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 170(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 170 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0935 8.6153
      L: 1368 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5108844 5108842
      SFErr: 696652 0
      RS: 347401434 43425157
      RSCorr: 124932966 464
      RSUnCorr: 16110392 0

      HEC: 672457 0
      OCD: 5325 0
      LCD: 26 0
      Total Cells: 1086373487 0
      Data Cells: 777235 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 19284 0
      SES: 13296 0
      UAS: 25 0
      Total time = 1 days 8 min 11 sec
      SF = 5108844
      CRC = 696652
      LOS = 198
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19284
      Latest 1 day time = 8 min 11 sec
      SF = 28876
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 11 sec
      SF = 28876
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5079968
      CRC = 696650
      LOS = 195
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19281
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52871
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 52
      LOS = 35
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 148
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 79

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      As expected, your stats are pretty dire. CRC, Error Seconds, and Severely Errored Seconds are all very high. If you are plugged into the Test socket, it means that the problem is with your external line. Unfortunately, there is nothing you can do about this other than phoning BT and tell them you have noises on your line. Try a quiet line test first ,to do this plug a normal touch tone phone directly into the BT test socket

      Dial 17070, press option 2 (quiet line test)

      You should hear 'Quiet Line Test' and then silence, there should be no pops, clicks, whistles, buzzing etc. If you hear noise on the line, dial BT and report the fault, they should be able to sort it out.

      If you do phone BT, don't mention Sky Broadband, or they will probably do nothing.

      For a very good explanation of these errors, have a look HERE in particular at the latter part of the first post.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      sleepy's Avatar
      sleepy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need help!!

      I had BT out last Friday and they had said they had fixed what they called an external error.

      Just tried the silent test and can hear buzzing on the line. will have to give them another go.

      Thanks for your hlp isitme.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION