Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Packet Loss

    This is a discussion on Packet Loss within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am on the Orpington - 01689 exchange and have run a test on the route and it is showing, ...

    1. #1
      pcblues's Avatar
      pcblues is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01689
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Packet Loss

      I am on the Orpington - 01689 exchange and have run a test on the route and it is showing, for at least the last 3 weeks between 30% & 80% packet loss.
      I have tried highlighting this to SKY tech support but they don't want to know, tried ringing Easynet, same thing. The node is:
      ip-89-200-133-147.ov.easynet.net

      Any suggestions to get someone to at least run a test would be grateful.

      cheers

      pcblues


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Packet Loss

      Nothing on the Internet is required to respond to a ping, and heavily loaded routers will usually place a higher priority on passing "real" data through them than on responding to pings.

      It is perfectly possible that a router (such as ip-89-200-133-147.ov.easynet.net) on the way to the site that you're trying to connect to will report packet loss, without it actually dropping any of the data being sent through it.

    4. #3
      ross-phillips's Avatar
      ross-phillips is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Seaton Deleval
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss

      I know the feeling mate, i get regular issues with gaming on my pc and funnily enough i coincides with the packet loss, although I have it mapped on ping plotter its pretty similar.

      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Packet Loss-broadband-connection.jpg  

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Packet Loss

      No packet loss to the final destination though. I can't see what the issue is here.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss

      as said on another thread - nothing to worry about as its designed to have loss there for some reason...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      ross-phillips's Avatar
      ross-phillips is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Seaton Deleval
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss

      Apologies guys but no network should be designed to have a percentagable packetloss. It should eithe rbe 100% or 0% and not inbetween.

      If it is showing inbetween it is generally due to the router being at max capacity and therefore prioritising traffic above ICMP replys. If this is the case and the packet loss is this high then it shows that the router in particular is not fit for purpose for thee amount of traffic going through it.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Packet Loss

      as said in ur thread, that particular hop is designed to slow down traffic for some reason - don't remember what it was now but its not a hardware issue...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Packet Loss

      Quote Originally Posted by ross-phillips View Post
      Apologies guys but no network should be designed to have a percentagable packetloss. It should eithe rbe 100% or 0% and not inbetween.

      If it is showing inbetween it is generally due to the router being at max capacity and therefore prioritising traffic above ICMP replys. If this is the case and the packet loss is this high then it shows that the router in particular is not fit for purpose for thee amount of traffic going through it.
      Well, it's a fair comment in theory, and would be applicable if you were, for example, designing the corporate network for a medium or large-sized company.

      For a rapidly expanding ISP, that level of service is never going to be achieved. Infrastructure will be uprated where and when it's needed and in practice, that means when significant packet loss is occurring, and in the context of a budget ISP, "significant" means widespread TCP packet loss. An over-engineered network is a luxury, not a necessity.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION