Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Line Capping Policy

    This is a discussion on Line Capping Policy within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyone know what Sky's policy for capping line speed is? Since I joined sky broadband I have been getting ...

    1. #1
      ChesneyChrist's Avatar
      ChesneyChrist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Capping Policy

      Does anyone know what Sky's policy for capping line speed is?

      Since I joined sky broadband I have been getting connection speeds between 4000 and 5000 kbps. I did experience the problems many other users seem to have with dropped connections.

      Recently the line speed has dropped to around 1600 kbps. I never contacted sky to complain about the dropped connections, would they have they taken it upon themselves to cap my line?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      Be worth posting detailed stats to see if we can see anything you can fix yourself before contacting Sky.

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

    4. #3
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      Be worth posting detailed stats to see if we can see anything you can fix yourself before contacting Sky.

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).
      Could I just make a suggestion. I open my cfg files in internet explorer, and I've found it a good way of reading the data.

    5. #4
      ChesneyChrist's Avatar
      ChesneyChrist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      Here's the stats. I didn't keep any from before the speed drop, so I have nothing to compare them to.

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1632 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 46.0 29.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.0 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 1824 1088
      Rate (Kbps): 1632 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 52(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 8
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 52 25
      M: 4 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.3018 8.6153
      L: 424 208
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 329754 329752
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 5605828 2802892
      RSCorr: 18556 4
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 21579133 0
      Data Cells: 582424 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8 0
      SES: 8 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 1 hours 33 min 53 sec
      SF = 329754
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 33 min 53 sec
      SF = 329754
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 53 sec
      SF = 13703
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      A very bad sync for your attenuation (you should be getting ~6000kbps) - you've not been capped.

      This means you've developed a line problem. No point in contacting Sky. Have you changed your wiring in some way? Are you using an extension lead?

      See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems.

    7. #6
      ChesneyChrist's Avatar
      ChesneyChrist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      Hmmm. The issue does possibly coincide with me getting a new digital cordless phone. Could this cause an problems? I have the phone connected the the same filter/phone socket that my sky+ box is connected to. I have tried disconnecting the phone and rebooting the router, but the sync remains the same.

      Nothing regarding the wiring or the way the router is connected has changed.

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      To be sure you could remove the faceplate of your main socket and plug your router in the hidden test socket in there with nothing else plugged in reboot the router and try again, if things improve you know you have a wiring problem or something plugged in is interfering.

    9. #8
      ChesneyChrist's Avatar
      ChesneyChrist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      Thanks for all your help. The new cordless phone is the culprit.

      Connecting to the test socket game me a blazing sync of 6700 kbps, which I'm sure is way more than the last time I tried that. Connecting normally, without anything else plugged in, put it back to around 4500 kbps which is what I was getting previously. As soon as the new phone is reconnected the sync drops to 1500 kbps.

      It's the same story whichever socket I try the phone with. The problem even occurs when the phone base unit is not connected to the power.

      Thanks again.

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      While you are playing arround with the phone sockets it would also be worth checking only pins 2 and 5 are connected from the back of the master socket faceplate to any hardwired extensions, extra wires other than those 2connections can also cause problems.

    11. #10
      ChesneyChrist's Avatar
      ChesneyChrist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Capping Policy

      Pins 2, 3 and 5 are connected. I'm going to replace the faceplate now that I know I could get better speeds.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION