Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 50

    only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I got activated today on sky broadband max package, but I'm only getting a steady synch speed of about ...

    1. #1
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Hi, I got activated today on sky broadband max package, but I'm only getting a steady synch speed of about 1545 Kbps.

      My router stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2952 kbps 743 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 16.6 db 11.0 db

      When BT did a line test, they said that I would get an ADSL (not ADSL2+) speed of around 5 megs.

      When I enter the line attenuation on the sky checker, it says that I should get an estimated speed of between 8 - 10 megs.


      Edit: 4:40 am

      I've been watching the router stats for a while now (Downstream Connection vs Noise Margin) and it seems that anything above 2515 Kbps, cannot hold a noise margin above 7.1 for very long (infact, when the Downstream Connection hits above 7meg, after a while, the noise margin hits 0.1).
      Would I be right in assuming that for me to get a better speed, I need to get the noise margin to stay at around a constant 10 (or higher) ?
      Is this even possible ?

      If I reboot my router (Via the web (i.e. 192.168.0.1)), the DownStream Connection Speed hits 10megs, but doesn't synch. Then the modem status changes to negotiating, and the DownStream Connection Speed goes down to about 8megs. This whole process repeats itself until the router synchs at around 1500 - 3000 Kbps

      Can anyone help me increase my speed ?
      Last edited by TimeWyrm; 03-10-07 at 05:40 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      you could find a way to get a broadband engineer to look at your line. As your phone line can ring someone and people can ring you? if thats correct bt would normally tell you to sling your hook, if you asked them to look at your line.

      but you need a broadband engineer, to look at the quality of your line. And if he/she, can see there is a quality problem with the line, can get BT to replace it with a good top notch quality line. Is your home old or new?
      Last edited by jdsimp1234; 03-10-07 at 11:57 AM.

    4. #3
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      but it looks, according to your line attenuation, it seems you live 3-4kms from your exchange is this correct?

      but your noise margin looks good to get 16mb sky max, I had that 16.0dbs at one time and when i went onto adsl2+ my noise marging went down to 7-9dbs.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      First have a look at these 2 sections. Do as advised to optimize your wiring and your PC connection.

      Speed tests and how to get better results - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!

      Cabling and faceplate help - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!

      I will say though, with an Attn of 37 you are very unlikely to get 16MB!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      To be honest, i wasn't expecting to get 16meg. With the attenuation at 37.0, I was hoping to get around 12meg, but because of the low noise margin, I thought that I would be getting between 8-10megs. Does this sound about right ?

      Here are my detailed router stats after 8hrs:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1400 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.9 22.0
      Attn(dB): 37.0 21.6
      Pwr(dBm): 0.8 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 1396 544
      Rate (Kbps): 1400 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 13(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 16 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 38 66
      B: 12 14
      M: 16 8
      T: 5 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.6788 8.0000
      L: 383 136
      D: 16 8
      Counters
      SF: 137875 137873
      SFErr: 0 1526
      RS: 1895790 1171920
      RSCorr: 2793 2421
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 6293
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 7325156 2311149
      Data Cells: 92199 23198
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 906 208
      SES: 880 0
      UAS: 450 12
      Total time = 8 hours 5 min 34 sec
      SF = 1760881
      CRC = 8417
      LOS = 2279
      LOF = 0
      ES = 906
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 5 min 34 sec
      SF = 1760881
      CRC = 8417
      LOS = 2279
      LOF = 0
      ES = 906
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 34 sec
      SF = 20825
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56008
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55947
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 48175
      CRC = 2689
      LOS = 149
      LOF = 0
      ES = 51
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55613
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 27
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25

      Can anyone see a problem ?


      Ok, one thing I have noticed is that, whether or not, I'm connecting wirelessly to the router, or wether I connect to it via ethernet, the highest speed it 'tries' to synch at, is around 9megs. But, when I plug directly into the test socket, it tries it's best to synch at just over 10megs.
      either way, the noise margin never stays constant (unless the router connects at under 3megs)
      Last edited by TimeWyrm; 03-10-07 at 02:16 PM.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by TimeWyrm View Post
      Can anyone see a problem ?
      Sure can.

      Your stats are pretty lousy - high errors, low sync speed and you've been capped (though exactly to what is hard to determine as your stats are so bad).

      To have such a truly awful connection with an attenuation of 37db and a noise margin of 15.9db (due to the capping) you have some serious line issues. Follow the links Isitme gave you for the cabling and faceplate help forum.

    8. #7
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      but it looks, according to your line attenuation, it seems you live 3-4kms from your exchange is this correct?

      but your noise margin looks good to get 16mb sky max, I had that 16.0dbs at one time and when i went onto adsl2+ my noise marging went down to 7-9dbs.
      I'm only 1.13 km away according to samknows (as the crow flies)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Unfortunately phones lines dont follow crows. I am 1.6 from my exchange but have an actual line length of 3.52k, giving me an attenuation of 36dbs. Unless you are very close to the exchange, you can usually double the straight line distance, then add some.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Considering there is only one phone socket in the house (apart from an inactive c&w socket), is there anything I can do to increase the noise margin ?

      I've checked the wiring inside the socket, and there are only 2 wires connected (as it should be)

      Ok, I'm trying the test socket, and post the stats in about an hour. But in the meantime, can sometell me if this is correct:
      there are actually 3 separate problems -

      1. The low noise margin
      2. high errors
      3. I've also been capped ?
      Last edited by TimeWyrm; 03-10-07 at 03:33 PM.

    11. #10
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Ok, here are the detailed stats from the test socket (but with the phone also plugged into the micro filter). I forgot to unplug the phone, so I'll do another test.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 693 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1567 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 36.5 21.4
      Pwr(dBm): 1.2 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 1568 792
      Rate (Kbps): 1567 693
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 22
      R: 16 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 16 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 40 68
      B: 13 21
      M: 16 8
      T: 5 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.5070 7.7575
      L: 426 198
      D: 16 8
      Counters
      SF: 157339 157337
      SFErr: 1 5792
      RS: 2261760 1337364
      RSCorr: 7062 7233
      RSUnCorr: 1 0

      HEC: 1 21825
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 9425219 3990094
      Data Cells: 116432 26402
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 65 599
      SES: 44 61
      UAS: 67 21
      Total time = 46 min 47 sec
      SF = 167368
      CRC = 1064
      LOS = 113
      LOF = 0
      ES = 65
      Latest 1 day time = 46 min 47 sec
      SF = 167368
      CRC = 1064
      LOS = 113
      LOF = 0
      ES = 65
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 47 sec
      SF = 6543
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55615
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55554
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49656
      CRC = 1064
      LOS = 101
      LOF = 0
      ES = 55

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION