Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 50 of 50

    only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; nothing wrong with it i guess, although remember its against T&Cs....if it's not a router issue then a TPS might ...

    1. #41
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      nothing wrong with it i guess, although remember its against T&Cs....if it's not a router issue then a TPS might be in order (basically moving the lines tie pairs to another location as it could be a faulty port at the xchange)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Yep, that's exactly what he said, but, even if I bought a new router, and it didn't work, I'd still have to try the replacement Sky router first.

      BTW, can I just plug in the sky replacement, or do I have to uninstall the 'faulty' one ?
      Last edited by TimeWyrm; 05-10-07 at 12:39 PM.

    4. #43
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      You dont even need the CD for any Sky router it should work straight away.

    5. #44
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      ^ what he said...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #45
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Well, the replacement router turned up, and still no joy
      T3 have passed it onto their BT team, who will liase with BT. Apparently, their are two choices:

      1. Long Line Test, by BT to verify that their are no problems on the line
      2. Type A shift (?) I think that has something to do with moving to a new port, basically in case the equipment at the exchange is faulty.

      Either way, I coulld be waiting as long as 10 days...

    7. #46
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      2. Tie Pair Shift
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #47
      cromozone's Avatar
      cromozone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      From what is happening when you initially sync through to your eventual resyncs at a very low speed but with high SNR it looks like you could be on a faulty line card (something that happened to me when I was with Bulldog).

      I could be totally wrong, but it looks like your line is fairly decent for the length, and thus syncs at 10000kbps, but the signal varies so incredibly that the router can't hold that sync, so resyncs very quickly while the line is having one of its 'low signal' spells - therefore you sync at 1000 - 2000kbps, but by the time you get the stats for the connection, the signal has gone back up on the line giving you quite a bit of SNR. Because it's an intermittent fault it's difficult to trace and difficult to get someone to accept that there's a fault.

      Of course I could be totally wrong as I often am, but it does look incredibly similar to something that happened to me last year on Bulldog...

    9. #48
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      T3 just phoned, and are going for the Tie Pair Shift. This will take 5 working days from today.

      @cromozone: what was done to rectify the problem ?

    10. #49
      cromozone's Avatar
      cromozone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+

      Bulldog never fixed it. To this day the second line in my flat which is connected to Bulldog hardware is 'dodgy'. The line itself is fine as confirmed by BT; basically it used to work perfectly for a year after installation, then one day I started getting resyncs caused by the exact same problem as you. When the line came back up, it would be at a much lower sync speed but the SNR would be very high, indicating that it could have synced at a higher speed. Bulldog techs simply couldn't resolve it, as they were not willing to have an engineer go to the exchange and replace the line card.

      Suffice to say that's the reason I'm with Sky now - with no such problems!

      I hope you get your problem fixed though. If they are indeed changing port then this should solve the issue I think. Here's hoping!
      Last edited by cromozone; 09-10-07 at 05:38 PM.

    11. #50
      TimeWyrm's Avatar
      TimeWyrm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only getting around 2Mbps on ADSL2+




      That's the result I get now
      My Downstream Connection is at 9850kbps, and upstream at about 764. I'm hoping that it hit 10000kbps eventually, lol.

      Tie Pair Shift seems to have done the job.

      Thanks for the help everyone !

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION