Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

    This is a discussion on Suddenly no dsl signal at all.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyone have any ideas on the cause of this problem? My connection was working fine up until the wee ...

    1. #1
      primegxm's Avatar
      primegxm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stirling
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Does anyone have any ideas on the cause of this problem?

      My connection was working fine up until the wee small hours, but then on checking on it later that morning I found that the adsl light had gone out.

      So I started going the following changing microfilters, changing cables, trying my old router, disconnecting all other telephones etc but still couldn't get a dsl signal. The phone still works fine and all the equipment is plugged into the main socket (old style master socket).

      The router doesn't even look like it is trying to sync up as there is no light showing at all, flashing, amber, or otherwise. I can still connect to the router from the PC and the stats just always say that it is connecting.

      I have been on the phone to Sky and I'm awaiting a call back from Tier 3 but I just wondered if anyone had any suggestions.

      The only thing I thought that might have affected it was that my toaster had shorted out the electricity that morning and tripped the circuit breaker. However I can't say if BB was working just before that. However I have tested another router and therefore don't this could have affected the router itself.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      did tier 1 do a tone test (or attempt to)? could be one of these phantom cancels where BT have reverted the line back to PSTN for no reason.....if so, it#ll need a cease & reprovide so best have a word with provisioning - or BT and check the tags are still on the line
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      primegxm's Avatar
      primegxm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stirling
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Tier 1 did a test with a series of beeps and that went through no problem.

      If its nothing at my end causing the problem then I'm hoping its a fault at their end which can be fixed relatively promptly rather than a flat out cancellation.

      Any way to check the markers/tags on the line, online?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      if u heard the beeps then the line is connected to the hardware exchange end so if you haven't tried with just a filter and router with nothing else attached to it then do that.....

      i would've pointed to a faulty router initially but as u said u've tried another one so it should rule that out...

      as for online tag checking - i dont know of any way to check, sorry
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Very simple method... visit Sky Broadband and stick in your phone number. If it says anything about needing a mac code to migrate to sy broadband, you have tags on the line.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      even if u already have Sky BB?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      even if u already have Sky BB?
      Yep, just does a check on your phone line to see if theres any tags...

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      You will be told you already have BB and will need to get a MAC code. ( a Migration Authority Code code?)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      primegxm's Avatar
      primegxm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stirling
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      I've consulted various online BB checkers and they all still say I have the broadband marker. Whether or not this is still working or connected I have no idea.

      I really don't want to wait 5 days for Tier 3 maybe to call me back, when I may or may not be available to solve a problem which may take another week or so to get sorted. I've read through the various Tier 3 threads, but does anyone know if there's a possibility if I call back that I maybe be able to get passed through directly? I tend to work odd shifts so I would be able to call at any time of the day.

      Also would it be quicker to get someone to look into my line if I used the email contact for technical support?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      call after 11pm and u should be ok but its literally luck of the draw...

      if an old router doesnt connect either BT might've done something to the line...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION