Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

    This is a discussion on Suddenly no dsl signal at all.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It is strange that your line checks out OK and yet the routers don't even sync. If your line shows ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      It is strange that your line checks out OK and yet the routers don't even sync. If your line shows as tagged, you should sync, even if you can't connect. One thing you could try, if you have the cable from a dial-up modem, plug the router in with that. ie. straight from the router into the master socket, no filter. If you sync then it is your filters that are dodgy, it is not beyond the bounds that the ones you have tried are all duff.

      Also try a different PSU if you have been using the same one.
      Last edited by Isitme; 02-10-07 at 10:23 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      primegxm's Avatar
      primegxm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stirling
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      And as quickly as it went, the connection is back.

      Got in around 00:00 and still no signal - just went downstairs to get phone to try and give Tier 3 a bash and noticed an extra green light on the router. Checked connection and it is back on and working.

      Fingers crossed it will stay this way.

    4. #13
      primegxm's Avatar
      primegxm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stirling
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Argh now its back again.

      Exact same problem, done all the usual tests, and it's still down.

      Called tech support, and I take i I got through to an overseas call-centre who after some confusion was finally able to understand the problem.

      She got me to go to the router page, where it showed no IP and no sync, before she said that according to a test she had done, the problem is down to an internet outage in my area.

      Has anyone else heard of this or is anyone else in the Stirling exchange area having the same problem?

      Seems odd to have occured twice in 3 weeks or have I just been fobbed off?

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      well, seeing as conahs quay is constantly down it wouldnt surprise me
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Quote Originally Posted by primegxm View Post
      Argh now its back again.
      There is a fault on the Stirling exchange at the moment, not affecting all customers, just one card.
      This could be affecting you. If you speak to Tier 1 again, ask them to check (they should do it automatically, but...).

    7. #16
      jmgraham's Avatar
      jmgraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Broughty Ferry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      got the same problem here in broughty ferry, dundee

    8. #17
      evilbond's Avatar
      evilbond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      im synced but cant connect aberdeen lochnagar. seems to happen on a weekly basis im unable to connect from about 2300 sunday night till anything uptill 12midday monday.

    9. #18
      jmgraham's Avatar
      jmgraham is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Broughty Ferry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Quote Originally Posted by evilbond View Post
      im synced but cant connect aberdeen lochnagar.
      yes, i'm synced too, first time it's happened here

    10. #19
      dundeeguy's Avatar
      dundeeguy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Baxter
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Eh, Dundee
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Tried to use the net late last night and it was down. I forgot to check it this morning before leaving for work, tho my brother's on Sky BB Max as well and his is down this morning too.

      Both Dundee.....

    11. #20
      evilbond's Avatar
      evilbond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Suddenly no dsl signal at all....

      Is there any sky dsl status website i can't seem to find one

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION