Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New Router

    This is a discussion on New Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If i was to say retrieve my ADSL username and password and use it on a new modem would i ...

    1. #1
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router

      If i was to say retrieve my ADSL username and password and use it on a new modem would i have a better time with my connection (Dealing with SNR related connection crapouts!)?

      P.S. can somebody reccommend a good non wireless router as i dont use it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router

      a new router won't stop dropouts if its SNR related - thats a line issue...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router

      Screw fooling around with this then im getting capped (mognuts is hassle!), the connection is fine at around 13mb sync so im gonna ask to get capped to around that figure.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router

      im not saying dont look into another router - some find others handle adsl better than the Sky one so even if SNR drops it stays a bit better but IMO ur better off setting ur SNR to 10+ and leave it like that without getting Sky involved....unless u want to of course
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router

      ^^^^^^^^^^
      Have to agree, Sky are just as likely to stick you on G.DMT which caps you at 8Mb and you may have a lot of hassle getting off it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router

      Trouble is during off peak hours i get constant 12mb but when it comes to say 6-7pm and im on xbox live i have to reset the router a few times until it gets down to like 13mb sync which is a pain in the rear!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION