Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Worth moving from Mid to Max?

    This is a discussion on Worth moving from Mid to Max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been transferred to LLU from connect this week. I live about 200m from the exchange, stats are below. ADSL ...

    1. #1
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      I've been transferred to LLU from connect this week.

      I live about 200m from the exchange, stats are below.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 14.0 db

      Is it worthwhile moving from Mid -> Max?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      could you re-boot your router, Attn 15.5 is a known bug

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      ^^^^^^
      Might not be if he is 200m from the exchange. Won't do any harm to reboot and make sure though.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      shall we have a guess at what it may be (assuming it is the bug)

      i would guess at ........... erm..........Attn 12.3

    6. #5
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      I wondered why the numbers had changed - was around 8.5 when on Connect.

      have just rebooted (3 times as it didn't want to connect....) and :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.3 db 14.0 db

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Wow! You would get 24 MB if it were available.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      I think I'll be phoning Sky then

    9. #8
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Called them at lunchtime, seems now to be activated.

      Still getting a download sync of 8096, upload has gone up to 768. Is it going to relearn the line and hopefully self adjust upwards?

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      looks like you are capped for some reason ?, could you post your full stats

    11. #10
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      looks like you are capped for some reason ?, could you post your full stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 8.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 13.9 db 14.0 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION