Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Worth moving from Mid to Max?

    This is a discussion on Worth moving from Mid to Max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The 768 shows you are on Max, however the 8096 shows that you may have been capped, I would have ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      The 768 shows you are on Max, however the 8096 shows that you may have been capped, I would have expected a higher speed than that.

      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.
      Based on an attenuation of 8.0db

      SkyUser - ADSL2 Line Speed Checker - upto 24mb




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      They ran a line test when I called to upgrade and predicted 14-16Mb, as the exchange is about 100m as the crow flies. I had a solid 7.5-8Mb on Connect without any problems.

      So I need to call them?

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      tbh I don't know the procedure. They have clearly moved you to MAX, but you do not have the correct download capabilities.

      Why not leave til tomorrow night after work or so and ring them if no improvement, just in case its a certain course of action?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      In other cases I have seen reported on the forum, the d/l speed increase has been more or less instant. Looks like the tech has left you capped for some reason, maybe he was just too tired to press another button

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Geez, Sky's tech support stinks...

      Phoned up after lunch. Bloke was saying something about an attribute looking incorrect on the line. Took me through the basic tests, then advised me to try the test socket then phone back so they could escalate to BT. Which I did. I then got told by bloke #2 that Max is upto 16Mb and 8Mb sync speed was perfectly acceptable. It's not when I'm less than 150m from the exchange, which I can see out of my front door! He wasn't having any of it...

      I then had 3 hours of no internet after re-assembling my BT socket and rebooting the router. Was getting a connection but can't resolve any names. Spent another 35 mins on the phone for them to bodge it up by getting me to manually add some different DNS servers into my Mac.

      I give up for today...

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Was this from Tier 3? or did you get stuck with T1 or 2? I have read on the forum the best time to get T3 is just after 11pm and that's from ones in the know

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Thanks, will give T3 a try. I dread to think what my phone bill will be like...

      What's with the DNS problem. Is it hard coded into the router?

      Router has :
      90.207.238.97
      87.86.189.16

      The alternates I got earlier are :
      87.76.189.16
      212.135.1.36

    9. #18
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Still not improved over the week. Had a quick run of mognuts utility which came back with :

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 9.0 8.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.5
      Max(Kbps): 10656 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768

      What's G.DMT? I would have thought it should be ADSL2.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      You can only try to get through to Tier 3 and ask them to change you to ADSL2+, this will give you the full 16mb. Your Attn would more than support it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worth moving from Mid to Max?

      Used the form hidden away on the website to send a reasoned rant late last night, and included the stats. Advised it was not running as ADSL2+ and requested Tier 3 take a look.

      Lo and behold ... an email back from Tier 3 this morning, saying they'd sorted it. Was fixed within an hour of me sending the email and had been stable for 9 hours overnight.

      I'm happy now. Probably will be less so when I get the 12 of calls on my phone bill however.

      I'll be using the website from from now on as the phone support is woeful. I worked in Helpdesk support for IBM on corporate accounts a few years ago and I wouldn't have employed any of the Sky staff I've spoken to so far.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION