Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

    This is a discussion on Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello all, I recently joined Sky Broadband on the Max plan and I'm having problems with disconnects. I've taken a ...

    1. #1
      HyperDawn's Avatar
      HyperDawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      Hello all,

      I recently joined Sky Broadband on the Max plan and I'm having problems with disconnects. I've taken a long look around the site and learned a lot but I'm still missing the knowledge to fix the problem myself.

      The line attenuation is 46db, but often during the evening the noise margin slips below 5db and this is one of the places I believe I could be getting problems. I've seen it as low as 3db and as high as 14db. Also when I get these problems and it finally reconnects the Line Attenuation sometimes goes down to 15.5db. Is that normal? What's the reason for that? Sometimes I get disconnected when the noise margin is 7+. I think I'm just on regular ADSL, would switching to ADSL2+ help?

      A traceroute to some popular websites reveals one of the easynet servers often having a high ping or resulting in packet loss. 89.200.133.147/ip-89-200-133-147.ov.easynet.net

      Currently connected at 3488kbit, which is annoying as I've been connected at 5500+ and should be able to achieve around 8mbit on ADSL2+, but reluctant to reboot the router as the connection is semi-stable at the moment.

      We only have 2 phone sockets in our house and none of them appear to be "master sockets", they both just appear as a standard phone socket. Our house is only 2 years old.

      Currently I'm connected via ethernet and I've disabled wireless access and UPnP on the router just to rule that out. The phone socket is next to a lot of electrical equipment and has an ADSL filter with the router and then a splitter with a phone and the sky box plugged in. The second phone socket is also fitted with an ADSL filter.

      I have an older DG834G router I could use if it's a limitation sky have implemented within the router.. Although technically that breeches their terms I believe.

      Also my pings are sometimes quite high (around 100 in the evenings) am I right to think I can just call sky and get them to reduce it?

      Here are my stats and I appreciate any help you can give.



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3648 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.5 13.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.4 9.9
      Max(Kbps): 3968 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 3648 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 115(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 115 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1379 8.6153
      L: 928 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 7784947 7784945
      SFErr: 133998 8
      RS: 264688218 66172032
      RSCorr: 261482215 516
      RSUnCorr: 316731 0

      HEC: 103991 2
      OCD: 40 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1138263132 0
      Data Cells: 116824072 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5622 0
      SES: 3658 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 1 days 12 hours 46 min 19 sec
      SF = 7784947
      CRC = 133998
      LOS = 331
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5622
      Latest 1 day time = 12 hours 46 min 19 sec
      SF = 2704628
      CRC = 45530
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1740
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 19 sec
      SF = 4646
      CRC = 2748
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 79
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 672
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 35
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5080319
      CRC = 88468
      LOS = 285
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3882
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 11353
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 302



      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      ADSL2+ will only be given to those with an attenuation of less than 30 really (there are some with higher but they're lines but be perfect!!!)

      as to regards of the master socket, it'll more than likely be the one by the front door/lounge - but if its only 2 years old there might be another socket somewhere (under the stairs? attic?)

      ideally you want to try the connection with purely the router connected and nothing else and see what happens but it could be ur line isn't very good in its current state.

      also, the electrical equipment near the router won't help either...and the pings will prob decrease once u sort everything else out...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      HyperDawn's Avatar
      HyperDawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      Thanks for your quick reply.

      There's definitely only 2 sockets, and the one in the lounge has 2 wires going into it and the one upstairs only has 1, so it's safe to assume the one in the lounge is the "master socket", but it doesn't have the removable faceplate.

      I tried turning everything around the socket/router off and monitored it but this didn't decrease the noise margin at all.

      What else can I do? Will Sky/BT be able to help? If I got a new socket could that help?

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      does your line come into your house from a pole, if so have a look at where it enters your house, if not from a pole check at the front of the house for a box (marked BT) and master socket should be on the other side

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      also, the traceroute loss is normal at that point - just so you know
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      HyperDawn's Avatar
      HyperDawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      You're totally right richone54! I feel pretty dumb!

      The master one is in the second bedroom, which is also a much better place for the router (away from all the other electrics). There's two stacks of boxed books up to the ceiling in front of it, so you can understand my reluctance to move them on the off chance it might be there! I looked behind them before but obviously not hard enough! At least it wasn't behind the full-up 3 door pine wardrobe!

      I'll let you know how it goes in a little while!

      Thanks very much for your help.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      Considering the NTE5 socket was introduced sometime between 1979 and 1986 depending on who tells you, it is surprising how many newer houses are not fitted with this type of socket. I can only assume that these are wired by contractors who don't always follow the BT line. It is possible to fit your own NTE5 socket, provided it is behind the BT Master socket. THIS article explains how it should be done.

      However it may be worth while calling BT and explaining that you are in a fairly new house with a non-standard Master socket and you are a bit worried about it, as you want to fit another extension and can't see how you can do this legally. Don't mention it has anything to do with Broadband, especially Sky, or you will either get nothing done or BT will want to charge you for replacing their own equipment. NTE5 sockets were originally introduced to make it easier and cheaper for the user to fit their own extensions.

      Looks like this is out of date. Shouldn't have stopped for lunch
      Last edited by Isitme; 30-09-07 at 03:03 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      HyperDawn's Avatar
      HyperDawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      Okay.. so I've turned the spare room into a landfill, and also discovered my laptop's battery only holds about 3 minutes charge.. but on the plus side I'm now connected at 7840 kbps! That's over twice my previous connection speed, and far more than I'd expected.



      In real terms it's about 50-65% faster (currently)

      HOPEFULLY this will have fixed my disconnect issues, however I'm having to use a wireless connection due to the small length of all my ethernet cables.

      I will call Sky up and see if they can't reduce my ping a little.. what's the harm?

      Thanks for all your help, especially Isitme's post :-p Lets hope your knowledge will help someone else out.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      what's wrong with a 37ms ping? if anything they'll cap ur line at the same time but if u wanna tempt fate then so be it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      HyperDawn's Avatar
      HyperDawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Intermittent connections and disconnects on Broadband Max Plan

      That was just a fluke to make me look good :-p Usually it's 50-60.. and higher in the evenings.

      Also I decided to do a speed test using ethernet and I was getting 6700kbps instead.. that's what you get for having a cheap 11mbps wireless dongle I suppose. What do you mean by cap my line? >_>

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION