Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

    This is a discussion on Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since having been switched from Connect to Mid a couple of months ago, my Sky Netgear DG834GT is constantly dropping ...

    1. #1
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      Since having been switched from Connect to Mid a couple of months ago, my Sky Netgear DG834GT is constantly dropping the signal, requiring a reset each time. Also when I do the reset, it takes about 5 minutes after the line LED has turned green for me to be able to use the internet.
      I have had signal drop outs before the changeover but when I reset the router the internet was accessible almost immediately.

      I'm really fed up about this and am only waiting for my contract to run out (December 07) before I move to a better ISP. In the meantime is there a working solution?

      I use the Mosseywell Bounce Sky prog, & Mognuts Utility, and have tried nearly everything else, I'm really *****ed off with Sky Broadband!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      when on connect, you may have been capped by BT(from what i have read on this forum most connect packages seem to be capped), after the switch over you may not be as capped and more errors may be happening

      could you post your full stats

    4. #3
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      System Up Time 00:34:44
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 20734 27977 0 747 8505 00:33:17
      LAN 10M/100M 11908 7562 0 6942 301 00:34:42
      WLAN 11M/54M 14306 15542 0 925 700 00:34:32

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5152 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 26.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db

      That's from the Bounce Sky Router program. I've had BT in to check my wiring (still paying off their very expensive bill!!) after b*gg*ring it up by trying to disconnect the bell wire.
      I'm also following the tier 3 advice of a very short telephone cable and a longer ethernet cable to my PC. The router also drops out if I'm just using wireless (WEP) without the ethernet cable connected. I understand about the SNR and mine can be around 13 during the day time. It's really only in the evenings that the signal drops out.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      i think this has been suggested before. there is a mognut tool which allows you to increase your noise margin, which would lower your speed but may give a better connection (sim to being capped, but reverts back on router re-start)

      sorry if this is something you have tried already

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      when on connect, you may have been capped by BT(from what i have read on this forum most connect packages seem to be capped), after the switch over you may not be as capped and more errors may be happening
      BT don't cap you, they throttle you, i.e., they actually limit the rate between the exchange and Easynet's network (and from there on to the Internet), they don't limit the speed at which your router syncs with the exchange. You're no more or less likely to be getting a reliable connection from a Connect service than you are from a Mid service.

      The heart of the problem is the inadequate software in Sky's router. It's not doing properly what ADSL modems should do, which is tracking the changing characteristics of the line throughout the day.

    7. #6
      far2wired's Avatar
      far2wired is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: KINGSMEAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bath, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      From the Bounce Router app dig out the following, your looking for LOS, if this figure is more than 5% of CRC you have a lot of errors causing the router reboot.

      This is mine, I had Tier 3 on the phone at 19:15, though my 4 hour figure shows 76, this was prior to the fix, since then I have had very few...

      Total time = 4 hours 38 min 30 sec
      SF = 1032382
      CRC = 199345
      LOS = 76
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6169
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 38 min 30 sec
      SF = 1032382
      CRC = 199345
      LOS = 76
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6169
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 30 sec
      SF = 31856
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56218
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Which will mean a phone call to support to cap your line...
      Sky Broadband Max | Wired | Clarity modified ADSL master socket | 10m twisted pair ADSL extension

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      just goes to show you can learn a new thing every day
      BT don't cap you, they throttle you, i.e., they actually limit the rate between the exchange and Easynet's network (and from there on to the Internet), they don't limit the speed at which your router syncs with the exchange. You're no more or less likely to be getting a reliable connection from a Connect service than you are from a Mid service.

    9. #8
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      After nigh on a month with Sky BB, Ive resigned myself to the fact, and after reading many posts, that the router/firmware they provide is crap. I've got my username/password and configured my old router (a netgear) and have not had the hassles I've had with theirs. Pity the BB service isn't is good as the TV

    10. #9
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      Cheers for all the input!

      >The heart of the problem is the inadequate software in Sky's router. It's not doing properly what ADSL modems should do, which is tracking the changing characteristics of the line throughout the day.

      I've read elsewhere about flashing my router but am somewhat confused about doing it. Has anyone here done it, was it easy, are there any pitfalls about doing it? I know it would be against the licence but if it cures the software problem then there'd be no need to change my ISP after my contract with Sky expires.

    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Netgear DG834GT dropping BB

      Using something like the Mognuts utility page can potential mess up your router, but not in any way that can't be resolved by rebooting the router. On the other hand, reflashing the router can leave you with a white plastic box that doesn't do anything.

      I wouldn't recommend it to anyone (because it's against the T&C's) but I'd specifically advise against doing it if you're not totally certain of what you're doing.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION