Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Belkin N1 Router

    This is a discussion on Belkin N1 Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I was wondering if aynone know if it was possible to put the new Belkin N1 router on Sky ...

    1. #1
      alana257's Avatar
      alana257 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01202
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Belkin N1 Router

      Hi,

      I was wondering if aynone know if it was possible to put the new Belkin N1 router on Sky broadband?

      Cheers,

      Alan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Belkin N1 Router

      It's possible to do it if you can find out what your connection username and password are (Sky don't tell you what these are - they're embedded into their router). It is, however, against the terms and conditions to use anything other than a Sky-supplied router for your broadband connection.

      If you need wireless-N, then the legitimate way to do it is to switch of the wireless networking facility of the Sky router and attach a wireless-N access point device to it using an Ethernet cable. You could actually use a wireless-N router instead of an access point, but setting up this combination of devices is a little more complicated.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 Router

      Have a look in THIS Section, you will find all you need to know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      fay's Avatar
      fay
      fay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273710710
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 Router

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      It's possible to do it if you can find out what your connection username and password are (Sky don't tell you what these are - they're embedded into their router). It is, however, against the terms and conditions to use anything other than a Sky-supplied router for your broadband connection.

      If you need wireless-N, then the legitimate way to do it is to switch of the wireless networking facility of the Sky router and attach a wireless-N access point device to it using an Ethernet cable. You could actually use a wireless-N router instead of an access point, but setting up this combination of devices is a little more complicated.
      this tells how to an experienced person but i am left baffled as to the technique to achieve this. I have a sagem sky router and Car Phone Warehouse sold me a belkin N router which they said was three times better but i am just baffled. I have an ethernet cable if they can be linked but beyond the physical connection i just don't know what to do.... anyone help?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Belkin N1 Router

      Have a look at post #16 in this thread - Have Sky cut of Belkin?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION