Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Time server problem

    This is a discussion on Time server problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It could be a coincidence, but since moving to sky broadband, my computer cannot synchronise the time using the time ...

    1. #1
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Time server problem

      It could be a coincidence, but since moving to sky broadband, my computer cannot synchronise the time using the time servers. I always get an error.

      Anyone aware of any possible reason for this and if your time server is working, which one are you using?


      dog-man


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Time server problem

      I use ntp1.easynet.net

      Seems to work fine.

    4. #3
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Time server problem

      Yes, works for me also.

      Thanks...

      I assume that sky have blocked the ones already listed in windows.



      dog-man

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Time server problem

      That's not likely really, but the ones built into Windows are going to be very heavily used, so I can imagine that they can get a bit slow at times.

      Personally, I think it's always best to use your own ISP's time servers - it seems more appropriate really, and they're just as accurate.

    6. #5
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Time server problem

      They (2 of them) worked perfectly before joining sky.

      It may well be a coincidence, but since joining sky, they have never worked.



      dog-man

    7. #6
      allen's Avatar
      allen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Midlands
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Time server problem

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      if your time server is working, which one are you using?


      dog-man
      I'm using uk.pool.ntp.org without any problem - hope this helps

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Time server problem

      There are problems being reported with the Windows time server on all the forums I visit. Some have speculated that an update to XP/Vista has caused the problem. I use ntp0.uk.uu.net which is Cambridge University, it does not give me any problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Time server problem

      Sorry to resurrect an old thread but it was the nearest I could find to a similar issue. Since my router upgraded to v1.03.87 I keep getting these errors in the log:

      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:00:27 - Initialize LCP.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:00:27 - LCP is allowed to come up.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:00:51 - CHAP authentication success
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:00:54 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Wed, 2009-08-12 13:40:16 - Receive NTP Reply from ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Wed, 2009-08-12 13:39:20 - Router start up
      ...
      Sun, 2009-08-23 06:33:00 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 06:34:20 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 06:36:30 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 06:40:20 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 06:47:30 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 07:01:20 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 07:28:30 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 08:22:20 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 10:09:30 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 13:43:20 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Sun, 2009-08-23 20:50:30 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Mon, 2009-08-24 11:04:20 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Tue, 2009-08-25 15:31:31 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 00:25:21 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 00:26:47 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 00:29:09 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 00:33:23 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 00:41:21 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 00:56:47 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 01:27:09 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 02:27:23 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 04:27:21 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 08:26:47 - Send out NTP request to ntp2.isp.sky.com
      Fri, 2009-08-28 16:25:09 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com

      After a reboot, the time synchronises once. then never again without a reboot?! Is it only me or has anyone else noticed this?
      Last edited by eyemdee; 29-08-09 at 08:07 PM. Reason: spelling

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION