Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    hellp

    This is a discussion on hellp within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i am sure this has been covered but can some one please point me in the same direction * have ...

    1. #1
      lukegreen's Avatar
      lukegreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: the one that costs £26 pcm
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      hellp

      i am sure this has been covered but can some one please point me in the same direction

      * have one router
      *have 1 pc

      pc can communicate with router, router show that it is connected to internet.

      why then can i not get online??

      I have followed every single instruction on the help files still to no avail and am getting pretty fraustrated- i contacted the help line (which stupidly i thought was free) spend 30 mins basicly running through the tick list on the help file and then the woman at the other end of the line told me to turn my pc off for 20 min's reset my router and then i would be connected... can you believe that i couldnt was i being fobbed off???

      also - problem still not solved does anyone have any idea?? i am despirate to use the net at home as there are things i need to download that i cant get to at work.

      please help me.

      " a wise man does at the beginning what the foolish man leaves to the end"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: hellp

      Right, what are you looking at that makes you come to the conclusion that your router is actually connected. (Sorry if that seems an insulting question, it's just that it's possible for the router to synchronise with the exchange OK, but not actually connect through to Sky's network and beyond into the Internet).

      Have you actually had your line activated yet? Were you previously with a different broadband provider?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: hellp

      If you can get into the router status page, click the Sky test button and report the result.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: hellp

      then it could be a DNS issue, or proxy settings in use....SO many variables!! lol!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: hellp

      then it could be a DNS issue, or proxy settings in use....SO many variables!! lol!!
      I don't see anything to laugh out loud at and not very helpful coming from a 'Skybod'

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: hellp

      trying to shed some humour on the situation, sorry for not being depressed all the time!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: hellp

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't see anything to laugh out loud at and not very helpful coming from a 'Skybod'
      I thought he was laughing at his own comment - not the problem.
      To me, the fact that a “Skybod” is on BT Broadband is funny.
      But others may not think so.
      Either way these posts bring the issue to the top.
      Hopefully others can narrow down the variables.



      .
      My Max. Faster, Cheaper, Better.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION