Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 50

    Unpredictable and flakey

    This is a discussion on Unpredictable and flakey within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm was having similar problems all this morning but seems ok now. And i've just turned off uPnP so i'll ...

    1. #21
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm was having similar problems all this morning but seems ok now. And i've just turned off uPnP so i'll if if it happens again.

      hinz


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      RichardH's Avatar
      RichardH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you do call them, i'd be very interested to know what their response is!

      Just going through that forum in more detail has also brought up the idea of possibly buying an ADSL filtered faceplate for the master socket. Not sure if that's worth a try as well or not.

      So what are the implications of turning off UPnP (other than it hopefully solving the connectivity problem)?

    4. #23
      stevem's Avatar
      stevem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSCHES
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kingston ( that's Surrey, not Jamaica )
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @RichardH

      you may have to manually configure some ports for various apps , that's all . Nothing for 'normal' surfing/email etc..

      Rgds
      Steve

    5. #24
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      A router without the ability of using UPnP is quite dreadful if this is the case.

      One poster asked what the implications of not using this is. Well more than one person cannot play the same game for example on the internet, i am not sure if it would also impact things like windows updates and the like. The problem can be bypassed, but it needs afair bit of technical knowledge not possessed by most users.

    6. #25
      RichardH's Avatar
      RichardH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well, if it gives us Internet access and a box that doesn't seize up every 15 minutes then I'm willing to give it a go, even if its only an interim solution.

      A new box won't fix this so if we get a few positive reports on disabling UPnP then I'll go with that and keep the box until Sky can come up with an official fix.

      This web site is terrific - I'd be tearing my hair out otherwise! Thanks and keep up the great work!

    7. #26
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm wondering if it only raises it head when you have more than one pc connected as some get a problem and others don't

    8. #27
      RichardH's Avatar
      RichardH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'd like to be able to say I have two PCs connected, but considering that my upstairs PC can't detect the Wireless signal at all at the moment suggests that having two machines connected is unlikely to be a common factor.

    9. #28
      richard_jerome's Avatar
      richard_jerome is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by RichardH View Post
      If you do call them, i'd be very interested to know what their response is!

      Just going through that forum in more detail has also brought up the idea of possibly buying an ADSL filtered faceplate for the master socket. Not sure if that's worth a try as well or not.

      So what are the implications of turning off UPnP (other than it hopefully solving the connectivity problem)?
      Just called them - if there's enough complaints they'll do a firmware update. He didn't acknowledge there were any known problems though.

      Wouldn't bother with the face plate thing - the line syncs ok and logs in ok, doesn't it? Takes about 30 secs for each on mine. And then it's bullet proof for 15 mins ;-)

      If you turn off upnp, you'll have to do manual port forwarding for upnp aware apps. Not sure if messenger audio/video will work without it.

      Oh well. It is only 5 quid a month after all :-)

      /Rich

    10. #29
      RichardH's Avatar
      RichardH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      >If you turn off upnp, you'll have to do manual port forwarding for upnp aware apps. Not sure if messenger audio/video will work without it.

      Ok. Let's just pretend for a minute that I have no idea how to do that or know which apps I have that use upnp...

    11. #30
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      In that case try looking on this site PortForwarding
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION