Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Port 5190

    This is a discussion on Port 5190 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK, I'm checking to make sure my router's configured securely and I run a port scan from a remote machine. ...

    1. #1
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Port 5190

      OK, I'm checking to make sure my router's configured securely and I run a port scan from a remote machine. My incoming ssh port is working fine, but I can see that port 5190/tcp is also open. Initially I thought that the evil UPnP must be opening it, but no. Even with UPnP disabled and the router rebooted, port 5190 stays open.

      Does anyone know why this is? Is it used by Sky for remote firmware updates or something? There doesn't seem to be any way to switch it off, and I feel uneasy about having an open port I can't account for.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Port 5190

      I see you got your router then

      Thanks for the PM James.

      Port could be something to do with?

      America-Online Server Port. Primary AOL Internet-connect port; also used in Instant Messaging. Alternate ports: 5191, 5192, 5193.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Port 5190

      Yeah, nmap is reporting that it's something to do with AIM, which is why I thought it might have been opened by UPnP (even though I'm not actually running an AIM client, so it's hard to see why UPnP would have taken it upon itself to do such a thing). A call to Sky CS was of no use whatsoever. I wonder if other Sky Broadband users have this port open.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Port 5190

      If you go to Online Port Scanner and type 5190 into "Scan custom port number" box, then click on the Go button, it'll tell you whether the port is open on your router too.

      I have a suspicion that everyone using Sky's router will find this port open, irrespective of their router configuration.

    6. #5
      Synthetic's Avatar
      Synthetic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Newcastle, UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port 5190

      Yeah it's not just you, i was messing round with nmap and my mates router and it also came up that port and we could find any way to close it, so i think its maybe used by something else behind the scenes with sky?

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Port 5190

      That's precisely my suspicion. I don't mind them leaving a port open for their own purposes, but I really resent them not telling me about it.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Port 5190

      90.197.xx.xx isn't responding on port 5190 (aol).

      I have UPnP enabled.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Port 5190

      I am getting this

      90.203.xx.xxx is responding on port 5190 (aol)
      A check on ShieldsUP confirms that this is associated with America on Line. Strange as I have never had anything to do with Aohell, why has this port been opened for/by it?

      Edit - I have UPnP enabled
      Last edited by Isitme; 24-09-07 at 01:54 PM. Reason: Added info

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Port 5190

      Nothing (directly) to do with Sky. This has been known about in the Netgear DG834GT since it was launched and has persisted through firmware changes.

      Google it and you'll find plenty of references - also on the Netgear forums. You can set up a specific block in the firewall rules or telnet into the router to kill the ReAim process which uses this port (and remember to do it again every time it is rebooted or maybe ask Mossywell to build it into his app).

      You'll find similar references to other routers including Linksysy, such is/was the power of AOL in the States.

      EDIT: forgot to add - you'll probably find ports 1864,5566 and 4443 open too (possibly others as well) plus a number closed such as 40000.
      Last edited by Saturday; 24-09-07 at 02:29 PM.

    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Port 5190

      Eeep! That's terrible. I've never been a big fan of Netgear kit, and this has really put me off them for good. It's only the T&C's that will be keeping that thing that I waited so long for in place.

      Output from nmap -sT -p1-65535
      Code:
      Starting Nmap 4.20 ( http://insecure.org ) at 2007-09-24 13:31 BST
      Interesting ports on xxxxxxxx.bb.sky.com (90.x.x.x):
      Not shown: 65430 filtered ports, 100 closed ports
      PORT     STATE SERVICE
      22/tcp   open  ssh
      1864/tcp open  unknown
      4443/tcp open  unknown
      5190/tcp open  aol
      5566/tcp open  unknown
      
      Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 291.566 seconds
      That ssh port is my incoming ssh connection to my big server, btw.

      Four open ports and 100 closed ports - this router isn't exactly exhibiting a discreet presence on the Net, is it. Not much point in disabling incoming pings really.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION