Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

    This is a discussion on Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys/Gals. Please help me out. i have had sky broadband now for about 6 months, after a very bad ...

    1. #1
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      Hi Guys/Gals.

      Please help me out.

      i have had sky broadband now for about 6 months, after a very bad start it sorted itself out.I am on the sky max package,however my top speed was around 5-6 meg, which was fine, as i need the download unlimted rather than speed.It would drop out may once a day and need a reboot of the modem and pc

      My speed according to the the router has now been increased to about 7-8.5 meg.Its fine during the day, still goes off about once, however on an evening it can go off 5-10 times and takes upto 10 mins to get back on.

      i dont use skys netgear modem, i use my old AOL netgear modem which is more or less the same but with v 3 on the back,i have also used a belkin modem, but to be honest not noticed a differance, some people say change the modem,but doesnt seem to help, is this a old wifes tail.I have updated the firm ware in the netgear modem

      I have disabled the untp ( or whatever it was called)

      i have had my BT point in the house renewed by BT, so i know the wiring is ok, i have ran a extenstion directly from inside the point to another point and from the second point is a filter, to which my phone and modem is connected.
      Connecting the modem directly to the main point with a filter makes no diffreance, so i am happy witht eh extension

      (1)i have read about this "bounce skyrouter" and assume its some kind of software program to reboot the modem, where can i find this?

      (2), does anyone know why the hell it drops out so much and for so long

      (3) is it because they are trying to send to much information down the line for what it can handle?

      (4) or could this have anything to do with windows Vista?

      (5) is it true a different modem makes the differance, i dont want to purchase a new modem if it doesnt make any differance, but i do admit my belkin modem is about 5 years old.


      Ok sorry for the long winded post, but am so frustrated.

      Cheers

      Snoop


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by snoopdog1971 View Post
      (1)i have read about this "bounce skyrouter" and assume its some kind of software program to reboot the modem, where can i find this?
      That application has been written to work only with the Sky router. It can not be used with your AOL or Belkin modem/router.

      If you want help you need to post your full connection stats (you'll have to look up how to do that with your modem). Also, are you wired or wireless?

    4. #3
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      hi

      i will switch back to the sky router this evening, so can you tell me where i can get this bounce sky router program?

      i will also post the router stats when i get home and post them

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      See the sticky in the technical discussion forum. Use Mognuts to get your full stats and run the connection hard for at least a few hours, preferably a full day before taking them.

    6. #5
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      hi Saturday, just an upadate

      I replaced my sky modem with a my old aol netgear modem sometime back as i was told the sky one was pants, i took a look at the noise margin, it was constantly dropping to around 1-5db, i rebooted as instructed but no effect, even though it was still connected to the net,i felt it was wrong and would disconnect at any time.I dug out the sky one,plugged that in and immediatly the noise margin was between 8-10db. it dropped to about 5.00 a few times so i rebooted and it seem to hold at about 7-7.5.

      I never lost connection and left it on all night, so i will see how it goes.

      i can only assume the other modem had some kind of fault for the level to drop so much.

      i also changed it to 108 and channel 6 as i had read that also helps,but its more likely the noise margin that has sorted it, i hope.

      touch wood.

      (incidently the bounce skyrouter wouldn't work, it says it supports my version of sky modem, but only the last 6 opotions are available to me, the reboot opotion is shaded out.)

      Thanks everyone

    7. #6
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      hi,,was fine for a couple of days but dropped out again

      below are my stats.

      please advise

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 28.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.6
      Max(Kbps): 8992 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 55105 55103
      SFErr: 25 0
      RS: 7494414 468375
      RSCorr: 7346 0
      RSUnCorr: 942 0

      HEC: 25 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 17886945 0
      Data Cells: 137529 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 23 0
      SES: 12 0
      UAS: 42 0
      Total time = 23 min 21 sec
      SF = 78923
      CRC = 188
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      Latest 1 day time = 23 min 21 sec
      SF = 78923
      CRC = 188
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 21 sec
      SF = 29523
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49400
      CRC = 184
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 20
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #7
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      more

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7616 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.7 13.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 28.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.3
      Max(Kbps): 8256 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 239 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0666 8.6153
      L: 1920 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 273649 273647
      SFErr: 24 120
      RS: 18608158 2325999
      RSCorr: 20944 142
      RSUnCorr: 679 0

      HEC: 21 92
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 83567656 0
      Data Cells: 471044 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 23 0
      SES: 13 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 hours 17 min 59 sec
      SF = 273649
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 22
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 17 min 59 sec
      SF = 273649
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 22
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 59 sec
      SF = 10586
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4

    9. #8
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      could someone take a look and see if there is any reason this is still dropping out?

      thanks

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      Even though your stats only cover a short period there are clear signs of line errors.

      You've two choices: use Mognut's to raise your noise margin much higher and take a speed hit, or, sort out whatever problem is causing the errors.

      The latter is clearly the better choice and you'll find info on diagnosing and fixing line errors in the cabling and faceplate forum.

    11. #10
      snoopdog1971's Avatar
      snoopdog1971 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01642
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Bounce Sky Router,sky Broadband, Connection And Modem Problems

      hi

      ok i ll see what i can do

      thank you

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION