Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 47

    my sky router stats, help me please?

    This is a discussion on my sky router stats, help me please? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; these are my sky router stats , is this good or bad? i keep getting quite a few disconnects too ...

    1. #1
      se1boy's Avatar
      se1boy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bermondsey 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      my sky router stats, help me please?

      these are my sky router stats , is this good or bad? i keep getting quite a few disconnects too

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4311 5532 0 1028 6162 00:13:22
      LAN 10M/100M 138 0 0 40 0 00:15:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 6147 4909 0 5912 1062 00:14:50


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 11.0 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.5 db 14.0 db

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.5 14.0
      Attn(dB): 11.0 8.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.3
      Max(Kbps): 9824 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 66574 66572
      SFErr: 328 0
      RS: 9054098 565862
      RSCorr: 45663 0
      RSUnCorr: 3562 0

      HEC: 244 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 21611185 0
      Data Cells: 163573 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 16 0
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 64 0
      Total time = 20 min 16 sec
      SF = 66574
      CRC = 328
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Latest 1 day time = 20 min 16 sec
      SF = 66574
      CRC = 328
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 16 sec
      SF = 18585
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 47989
      CRC = 318
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      You've only got 20 minutes of stats there, so it's a bit hard to make a comprehensive assessment. Ideally, you need to get those detailed stats after the router's been on for 24 hours.

      Your attenuation figures - listed as Attn(db) - are very low which suggests you live very close to the exchange. That's a good thing. But for someone so close to their exchange, your SNR margin is pretty low. (The signal to noise ratio - SNR - is a measure of how strong the broadband signal is on your line compared to the background noise on the line).

      So there's a lot of unwanted interference on your line. Have a look around at some of the other subjects in this forum (the subjects marked "Sticky") for tips on things you can do to reduce the interference, but first thing to ask is, have you remembered to use a microfilter on every phone socket in the house? Including the Sky TV box?

      A lot of people assume that the microfilter is just a handy splitter that lets you plug the router and a telephone into the same socket, but one of its most important functions is to stop telephones and old-style dial-up modems (like the one in your Sky TV box) interfering with the broadband signal.

    4. #3
      se1boy's Avatar
      se1boy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bermondsey 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      yeah i live about 330 metres from the exchange lol well its basically a couple of roads down from me lol.

      i have the master socket which has the microfilter plugged into it which has the sky router plugged into it and the phone line and sky plus wire plugged into the other side of the microfilter and i have another socket which is extended but nothink is plugged into that one
      i have tried with just the sky router in but things dont change

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      Ah well, it was just a thought. Your SNR figure does look really bad for someone so close, so I was hoping there might be something obvious going wrong.

      The thing to do is try putting the router into the test socket. There should be plenty of information elsewhere on this forum about how to get to the test socket inside the master socket box.

      Plug the microfilter into the test socket and then the router into the microfilter, with nothing else connected. This eliminates all extension wiring completely. Try seeing what kind of stats you get with things connected like that. If the SNR figure increases, then that would suggest that there is a problem with the extension line (even if there isn't anything connected to it). But if things don't really change much, then the problem is between the exchange and your house.

      (Well, there's also a small chance that there's something wrong with the microfilter. If you've got an old-style dial-up modem, that might have a cable which will allow you to plug the router directly into the test socket, and would eliminate the microfilter as a potential cause of problems).

      If the problem is caused by the line between your house and the exchange, then that can be very difficult to get fixed. In general terms, as far as BT are concerned phone lines are for voice communications and if you can make a voice call on the line, then the line's not "faulty" in any way. And if your line can also carry a high-speed broadband connection, well, that's just a bonus.

      But other people might be able to give your further advice on getting a noisy line sorted. It's not something that I have any direct experience of.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      Quote Originally Posted by se1boy View Post
      i have tried with just the sky router in but things dont change
      Well your sync speed won't change because you're on G.DMT and capped at 8096kbps. What will change (if you improve your connection quality) as James67 says, is the noise margin.

      In the short period covered by your stats your line errors were already bad. Capped at 8096kbps with an attenuation of only 11db, your noise margin is low at 11.5db. Both these things point to a pretty bad line problem.

      Follow James67's advice or see the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems - most often these are down to your home phone wiring. Sort this out then get uncapped/on ADSL2+ and you should easily see the full 16meg on Max.

      Lastly, regarding your disconnections, these can be caused by many things, not just line errors. Can you give more details: how often, any regular pattern, what are the symptoms, wired or wireless etc?

    7. #6
      se1boy's Avatar
      se1boy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bermondsey 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      heres my stats again think its been about 9hours worth here i think /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 11.0 8.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.3
      Max(Kbps): 9824 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1915081 1915079
      SFErr: 18691 2
      RS: 260451080 16278171
      RSCorr: 2720858 3796
      RSUnCorr: 160886 0

      HEC: 12475 2
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 621548982 0
      Data Cells: 889777 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 937 0
      SES: 359 0
      UAS: 64 0
      Total time = 9 hours 4 min 1 sec
      SF = 1915081
      CRC = 18691
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 937
      Latest 1 day time = 9 hours 4 min 1 sec
      SF = 1915081
      CRC = 18691
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 937
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 1 sec
      SF = 14232
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 284
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 252
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 43

      thank you james and saturday for replying.

      i think my line is capable of only roughly 6500kbps dont think its capable of 16mb, i am about 330metres away from the exchange its basically down the road from me

      i am going to use the test socket with nothink else plugged in see how it goes then post the stats after a few hours n you can have a look

      the disconnections are every so often i will just be on the internet e.g could be on this forum then i will get disconnected and it is quite regurarly too
      Last edited by se1boy; 24-09-07 at 12:14 PM.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      Your line attenuation is easily capable of supporting an ADSL2+ connection of 16meg - it's the line errors which would prevent this.

      Your disconnection problem has been answered in your other thread.

    9. #8
      se1boy's Avatar
      se1boy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bermondsey 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      so how would i go about getting my line to asdl2+??

      so the stats, what are the things i need to look for on there (e.g like the errors)

      well wen its in the test socket the noise margin dont change at all its roughly the same so does that mean that there is a fault with my line?? if so what can i do about it??

      is it possilbe it could me the wiring into the test socket??

      i tried 2 different micro filters the one that came with my sky router and i tried an old modem cable but no change there still the same
      Last edited by se1boy; 24-09-07 at 02:10 PM.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      Phone BT and tell them you are hearing noises on the line. Don't mention Sky Broadband.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      se1boy's Avatar
      se1boy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bermondsey 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my sky router stats, help me please?

      what will they say if i phone them and say i hear noises on the line, what will they do??

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION