Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Slow speeds on Max

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds on Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I've just has my Max reconnected after moving house and checked my speed using speedtest.net and am getting 9325k ...

    1. #1
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Slow speeds on Max

      Hi

      I've just has my Max reconnected after moving house and checked my speed using speedtest.net and am getting 9325k on my laptop and only c700k on my desktop.

      I'm only 740 metres from the exchange and my router stats are as follows:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 12.9 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 13.5 db

      3 questions then:

      1. why the difference between the 2 computers?
      2. surely being so close to the exchange I should be getting over 10k?
      3. how long do I need to leave Mossywell's app running before I can post my stats on here?

      Many thanks,

      Phil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Your connection speed between the router and the exchange is excellent, and the noise margin figure suggests that the router is achieving that speed quite comfortably, although getting your stats for a full 24-hour period will show if there are times in the day when a problem is occurring.

      Speedtest.net doesn't appear to be an entirely reliable way to measure your connection speed however. If their test servers are a little overloaded, it can make your speed look lower than it should be, although the discrepancy between your two machines suggests some kind of networking problem within your house.

      Is it possible to get one of your PCs close enough to the router to try using that yellow Ethernet cable to connect your PC to the router. If so, try using that and seeing what kind of speeds you get.

    4. #3
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Hooked the laptop up to the router and ran the speed test - got 9586k, so no real improvement there.

      Have run the TCP tool also, but that doesnt seem to have had any affect.

      Tried to see if i could use the test socket on the master BT switch, but the connection cable to my wireless router is different.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Well if you use the test socket, you'll need to use a microfilter as an adapter. Or if you have an old dial-up modem around the house, you might find that the cable from that will do the job.

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Oh and what kind of speeds do you get on the laptop (wirelessly) when you put it next to the desktop PC?

    7. #6
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Ok - will go and check that now. In the meantime my detailes stats:

      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 12.5
      Attn(dB): 26.0 13.0
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16592 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 125016 125014
      SFErr: 1 1
      RS: 16252136 1062619
      RSCorr: 1044 0
      RSUnCorr: 1 0

      HEC: 1 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 73153664 3626690
      Data Cells: 1976247 1313444
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 34 min 3 sec
      SF = 125016
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 34 min 3 sec
      SF = 125016
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 3 sec
      SF = 15071
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54354
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    8. #7
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      They are next to each other - 5.5k on the desktop, 9.5k on the laptop

    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Eh? 5.5 and 9.5kbit/sec? You don't mean Mbit/sec by any chance do you?

    10. #9
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      This is the laptop:


    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Ah so the desktop's gone up from about 700kbit/sec to about 5500kbit/sec once you moved the laptop next to it.

      I think the problem is caused by wireless interference from a neighbour (don't I always?). I don't think the router handles this interference very well when you one PC quite close to the router and the other further away.

      Go to the router configuration pages at http://192.168.0.1/ and select the Wireless Settings page. You'll see a channel number there which is set to 6 by default. Select a different channel number and click on the Apply button at the bottom of the screen.

      You might temporarily lose your wireless link to the router from the PC whilst it tries to find the new channel that the router is using. You might even have to reboot the PC - it depends on the make of wireless adapter you're using in the PC.

      Hopefully, you should be able to find a channel which performs better.

      I'm also wondering if your low speeds on the PC might be being hindered by the adapter using a slow USB connection. I think wireless network adapters need to use USB 2.0 to get a reasonable speed out of them. I'm not sure how you check for that though - I don't use USB very much.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION