Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Slow speeds on Max

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds on Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No - the last time I tested the desktop was last night (700 last night, 5,500 now) - there's no ...

    1. #11
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      No - the last time I tested the desktop was last night (700 last night, 5,500 now) - there's no correlation between having the laptop in the same room as the desktop - tried that theory already.

      As for the USB - Im using a pci card in my desktop. So can't be that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Ah right, still could be wireless interference from a neighbour. The wireless signal looks excellent when you're not doing anything, but as soon as you try to use it, the speed plummets.

      You can do a wireless survey by switching off your own router and then opening a command window (Start -> Accessories -> Command prompt) and typing the following commands:
      Code:
      netsh wlan show networks mode=bssid >netsh.txt
      
      notepad netsh.txt
      That'll show what channel numbers your neighbours are using and how strong they are in your house. Try to pick a wireless channel that's as far away as possible from other networks.
      Last edited by James67; 23-09-07 at 07:57 PM.

    4. #13
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Unfortunately that only seems to work on Vista, and not on XP.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Netstumber is a very good tool for detecting networks. Be sure to read the instructions.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Ok, used Netstumbler - only 1 other network in area and they are using channel 1 - I'm using 11. Will try changing channel anyway.

      Interesting thing though - tried the test socket on the master BT switch - no dial tone at all and no internet signal. Is that right? BT Openreach only put in the new line 2 weeks ago - so all new cabling.

      Using another speed tester, I got up to 11,000kbps this afternoon, now its back down to 1390kbps.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Interesting thing though - tried the test socket on the master BT switch - no dial tone at all and no internet signal. Is that right?
      No, this is your main connection to the phone line. If this does not work the Master socket should not work. Did you plug a phone direct into it, or through the filter? If it was through the filter, then it may be dodgy.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      i plugged in using the filter - u think the filter may be dodgy?

      Just tried the phone direct into the test and it worked ok - no tone through the filter though.
      Last edited by Philth; 23-09-07 at 11:24 PM.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      It could be. Try plugging a phone direct into the Test socket. If it works then the filter is either making a bad connection or is faulty inside. Either way, try another filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Philth's Avatar
      Philth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rectory
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton Coldfield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Plugged phone in directly - fine
      Plugged phone in via filter - no tone
      Plugged phone in via new filter - fine

      No change in speeds though.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds on Max

      Mark the dodgy filter with a big red cross so you don't use it again

      I think the problem is with your PC, it could be that the drivers are corrupted and not working as they should. You could try uninstalling the card completely and reinstalling it. Run the TCP optimiser to make sure it is set up OK. In my experience a PCI card will always outperform a USB adapter.

      If reinstalling the drivers does not help, try installing the USB adapter from the laptop in the desktop,(I am assuming you have one) and disable the PCI card. If the performance improves, then it is your PCI card that is not giving it's all.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION