Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    BB Help me pls

    This is a discussion on BB Help me pls within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey everyone im tryin find some help wit my problem my gf has been on sky bb for about 3 ...

    1. #1
      Ve33iE's Avatar
      Ve33iE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry BB Help me pls

      Hey everyone im tryin find some help wit my problem

      my gf has been on sky bb for about 3 months now and her download speed was over 3mb and upload round 410kbs

      there was a problem wit the phone line about week ago so no internet and now her router status is showing


      Downstream / Upsteam
      Data rate
      320 320
      Noise margin
      30.2 14.0
      Output power
      12.1 0.8
      Attenuation
      63.0 31.5

      This is from belkin router and it shows the same status on the sky router as well??

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      id say the line as prob capped from the previous issue so best call Sky to get the cap removed - say u had line issues now resolved and you need tier 3 to remove the cap (or raise it)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Ve33iE's Avatar
      Ve33iE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      Thanks for the fast reply mate.

      can sky bb put a capp on the line ?? as my gf is on sky mid package and why would they do this???

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      Sky log into exchanges and can manually cap a line to make it more stable if there is an issue with the line. You said you have one and chances are its now fixed so Sky can remove the cap and set the line back up to the speed it was before - or maybe more....

      have a read of the sticky threads in each forum as there's a ton of info to take in!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      yes you can all say that, but with a Downstream attenuation of 63, your girlfriend wont get much more than shes currently getting, and thats if there is any more speed to be coaxed from her line

    7. #6
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      If she was getting 3Mb before, and the attenuation is now 63 dB then I would say there is a problem with the line somewhere. Did the phone line problem go away by itself, or were BT called out?
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    8. #7
      Ve33iE's Avatar
      Ve33iE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      well i think there is a cap on the line, cos why would the upload and download speed be the same

    9. #8
      Ve33iE's Avatar
      Ve33iE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      here we go guy i got a screen shot of the router status, b4 i had this problem with the speed

      ImageShack - Hosting :: routerfh2.jpg

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      As you have already been advised, phone Sky and ask them to raise your cap as the line has been fixed.

      I notice your image shows you are/have been running the wireless lan without security and with the default key. This is dangerous and can get you into lots of trouble. If you have not already done so, get it fixed

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Ve33iE's Avatar
      Ve33iE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB Help me pls

      i have phoned them today and they have said it will take 3-5 working days to sort it out or somthink....... dunno why they cant just sort it out now wit the cap

      btw i noticed my gf did not have security on her wireless and i got that sorted out now

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As you have already been advised, phone Sky and ask them to raise your cap as the line has been fixed.

      I notice your image shows you are/have been running the wireless lan without security and with the default key. This is dangerous and can get you into lots of trouble. If you have not already done so, get it fixed

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION