Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    telephone problems

    This is a discussion on telephone problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; apologies if this is the wrong forum but was wondering if anyone could help me. A relative of mine recently ...

    1. #1
      steve_nels4's Avatar
      steve_nels4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      telephone problems

      apologies if this is the wrong forum but was wondering if anyone could help me. A relative of mine recently changed to Sky broadband from a dial up connection through BT. Everything has been setup and it works correctly. However a few days ago they then needed to change from talktalk to sky telephone. So this transfer is taking place and i understand that it has to go through BT to "transfer the line" from talktalk to sky. However in the mean time the phone service is now down, however the broadband is still working correctly. I have looked at all the physical connections and they are configured correctly. It just happened over night one miniute had a phone line now nothing.

      They have phones talktalk Bt and Sky all do not claim responsibilty and with the waiting times on each helpline not being free through the mobile i was wondering if anyone could help me. Is this typical of a transfer ? and if so how long will it last? if its not anything to do with the transfer then what can i do to solve it ?
      Many thanks
      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      Are they paying line rental to BT or Talk Talk?
      Sky Talk uses BT.
      Have they tried reporting a fault on the line,
      https://www2.bt.com/btPortal/applica...teArea=con.mya
      or plugging the phone directly in the master socket having removed the ADSL filter.
      Last edited by penrhyn; 21-09-07 at 09:35 PM.


    4. #3
      steve_nels4's Avatar
      steve_nels4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      Theyve changed their phone to some sky package not entirely sure of the details but its basically sky.

      Have tried to contact them about fault but as usual takes too long. But i was thinking there surely isnt a fault on the line if the broadband service is still working ?

      Have taken the filter off and plugged straight in with no success, and also tried in all the other points. Have tried different handsets and still no success.

      Many thanks for reply

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      worst case scenario - cease & reprovide will be needed.....which can take around 2 weeks should it all go smoothyl
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      steve_nels4's Avatar
      steve_nels4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      hmmm is it likely to be caused by this transfer and therefore will be back to normal in few days? very annoying and unneccessary!

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      IF phone line is changing services, any service currently on the line (including BB) will be negated - hence me saying worst case scenario is cease & reprovide which will be around 2 weeks...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      If they are paying BT for their line rental and its the phone thats gone dead then its up to BT to fix it.
      Have you or they tried the line check in my previous post.
      Sky talk uses the BT network.
      This might help:
      https://www2.bt.com/static/i/media/pdf/repair_guide.pdf

      Have you tried more than one telephone?
      Last edited by penrhyn; 22-09-07 at 11:25 AM.


    9. #8
      steve_nels4's Avatar
      steve_nels4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      they not really paying anyone at the moment as is in the process of transferring from the talktalk company to SKY via BT! in the process the line has been dropped! so i was just finding out if its anything to do with the transfer.

      Havent tried line check because the queues on the phone are stupid and being transferred from one person to another and taking 30 mins each time is costing a bomb on the mobile.

      Have looked at the link and have done all that too.

    10. #9
      steve_nels4's Avatar
      steve_nels4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      have just tried the BT line test through Bt and it says something along lines of there being no service associated with the phone number, which makes sense as they are not on BT phone. They are on sky but everything has to go through BT apparently!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: telephone problems

      If they have taken a Sky Talk package, their rental will have to be paid to BT. If previously, they paid call charges and rental to TT, this is where the problem arises. They will now be in limbo as TT have ceased their service and BT have not picked it up. Their Broadband will still work as they will still be connected to the Sky DSLAM at the exchange. Unfortunately, when BT eventually take the line back, all services on it will be removed and this includes the Broadband. As has been stated already this should take about 2 weeks to sort out, but if past experiences reported on the forum are anything to go by, it is more likely to be months, rather than weeks.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION