Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    McAfee free 12 months - how?

    This is a discussion on McAfee free 12 months - how? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I installed Sky broadband for my brother in law. Easy peasy, didn't use the CD. He has a brand new ...

    1. #1
      Jabes's Avatar
      Jabes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      McAfee free 12 months - how?

      I installed Sky broadband for my brother in law. Easy peasy, didn't use the CD. He has a brand new Dell and has just activated his 30 day free McAfee trial from that.

      Now we want to get the free 12 months from sky: I tried installing the McAfee on the disk over the top, and it says that it is the wrong OS (it's Vista).

      So - the question is - can we get the 12 months without re-installing McAfee? If not, what steps do we take to get 12 months installed?

      Seeya
      James


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: McAfee free 12 months - how?

      Have you read this thread?

      It may help - McAfee Security Suite 2007




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: McAfee free 12 months - how?

      If I were u m8 I wouldnt bother with mcafee, loads of people have reported problems with it, try one of the free ones such as avg which I can recommend having used it for a while now.


    5. #4
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: McAfee free 12 months - how?

      i dont know if mcafee works with vista [i use xp but have taken mcafee off my pc ,it seemd to cause random screen /desktop freezes when i got rid of it my pc ran fine [maybe coincidence but i dont think so ]anyhoo i use avg free and have not had a virus yet [touch wood]

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: McAfee free 12 months - how?

      you have to get the vista version to work (i found this out after upgrading but meh)

      i think you can get it from a link on the sky.com site but not too sure - i just logged into my McAfee account and downloaded it from there (obviously have to have ur copy reg'd to do this)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Jabes's Avatar
      Jabes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee free 12 months - how?

      Yes, we have McAfee installed on the PC - we just want to get the 12 months of free use. Is the only way of activating it to download the sky link and install that rather than the one we already have?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION