Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

    This is a discussion on I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I am currently on sky max and have been for the past year, however during this time I ...

    1. #1
      johnboy2007's Avatar
      johnboy2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      Hi there,

      I am currently on sky max and have been for the past year, however during this time I have only ever shown downstream speeds of around 7500. noise has typically been around 6.9-7.1db and attenuation 33db.

      Here are my stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7616 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.0 12.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 22.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 8192 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 239 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0666 8.6153
      L: 1920 208
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 131384 131382
      SFErr: 2 0
      RS: 8934154 1116747
      RSCorr: 1032 0
      RSUnCorr: 12 0

      HEC: 2 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 40125617 0
      Data Cells: 250026 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2 0
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 37 min 45 sec
      SF = 131384
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0



      Is there anything here I need to be concerned about? Should I speak to tier 3 and get switched to 16mb?

      your help is much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      Your SNR margin is about as low as you'd want it to go really, and you're already getting a few errors. I don't think you'd be able to squeeze any significantly greater speed out of your line.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      have a look here
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained

      this may help you decide whether to go on 16meg, you would need to change the noise using mognuts, have a read and see what you think

    5. #4
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      You getting as much as you can with your current noise margin.

      If Sky uncapped you & switched you from G.DMT to ADSL2+, you'd still be limited by your noise margin.

      (if you can sort your noise out however, then it may be worth getting switched to ADSL2+ after that).



      Have a read of the link in the previous post - it explains all about noise margin, attenuation, etc.

      Also, how do you connect the router to the phone socket?

      Direct to the master, or via an extension?


      Try using the hidden test socket (assuming you have an NTE-5 master) & see how that affects your noise margin etc.:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html



      Try removing the ring wire, if it is connected.

      (orange wire with white bands, connects to terminal 3 on the IDC on the back of the master's faceplate & on the extension socket(s) - not needed at all for modern phones or if microfilters are used, & serves no use other than to introduce lots of noise & affect your connection)

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help


      You could also get a filtered faceplate if you have an NTE5 master socket:

      ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      With your attenuation you could get 12-14 Mb on a good line using ADSL2+. Do as suggested above and plug in to your Test socket. If your errors disappear, phone Sky and tell them you have had your line fixed and would like to go on to ADSL2+. If some errors re-appear you can manage these by using the Mognuts utility. It is worth the effort to potentially double your speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      johnboy2007's Avatar
      johnboy2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      Thanks for the replies.

      I plugged straight into the test socket on my master socket and found the noise margins increases to 12-13db (previously around 6.9-7.5db) with attenuation around 32db. It would seem the face plate on the master socket is causing the problem. On my master socket the face plate screws into the back box however the connection isn't clicking home. This is fine for voice calls but must be the reason for the low noise margins.

      With noise levels of 12-13db and attenuation of 32db I should be able to get sky to switch me to the higher speed.

      Any thoughts??

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      ^ in a word - yes.....

      get an xte-2005 faceplate from ADSLNation and then get onto Sky about lifting the cap...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      Also check that only pins 2 and 5 are connected to any extension sockets, on the back of the master face plate and in any extension sockets.

    10. #9
      johnboy2007's Avatar
      johnboy2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      thanks everyone.

      i changed the master socket which enabled me to achieve a noise db of around 12.
      i then called sky and baffled the tier 1 guy with gmt adsl2+ modes and capping etc he then duly connected my to level 3 after only a couple of minutes on hold.

      Working with tier 3 we then increased my speed upto around 12.5 mbps.

      A great result!! Connection stable, downstream times v.good. I wish I had come across these forums earlier cos I've been putting up with 5-6mbps for the past year!!

      thanks once again.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I should be getting a faster connection, shouldn't I?

      Nice to see another good result. The amount of work this forum saves SkyCS, I think they should raffle a laptop every month on the forum

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION