Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

    This is a discussion on Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- OK guys, im in need of your help. My brother is on sky broadband, just like me. He has ...

    1. #1
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      OK guys, im in need of your help.

      My brother is on sky broadband, just like me. He has a rock solid connection, full 16Mbit with downstream attenuation at 15 and a noise margin at about 12.5. Approximately 11 days ago, his internet stopped working. I logged into his router, and it is synced but there is no ip address. I turned the router off, reset it, even tried a different router but it still wouldnt get an ip address. On the first day it happened, i called sky tech support, who said tier 3 will call within 5 days. Its now day 11 and nothing has happened, not one single phone call from tier 3.

      I dont know what the problem is, but this is ridiculous. There was never a problem with the connection before, it was rock solid. For some reason now im just not getting an ip address

      So can anybody advise on what to do, or how to get tier 3 to call because its an absolute joke. They are frankly useless.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      I had a similar problem a few months ago which was down to equipment fault at the exchange. To be honest tho I didnt wait 11 days for sky to ring me back - i hassled them relentlessly everyday


    4. #3
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      Myself and my brother have called them back everyday, keep on getting told that tier 3 will call back within half an hour....what a load of rubbish!!

      If there are any sky employees here, please can you sort this problem out and get in contact. it simply is not good enough, 11 days without internet.

      Sort it out!!!

      Does anybody know how i can get in contact with tier 3 directly?

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      Tier 3 phoning you is like an audience with the pope, it's technically possible but extremely unlikely to happen.

      Every time a tier 3 number gets posted up here Sky usually disconnetcs the number within a very short time, although somebody who knows one currently may PM you with one, frankly get on their case because this could be caused by something very simple such as a dodgy router or it could be a problem at the exchange which needs Sky to get BT to look at it and I think that customer services think if they say that T3 will phone you that you'll go away.

    6. #5
      Helpmeplease's Avatar
      Helpmeplease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Broadband Option 1 (not for much longer)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      I would suggest that you first take a look at the Router's logs. In most cases you find a clue in their as to what could be the cause.

      Login to the router and click on 'Logs'.
      Press the 'Clear Logs' button.
      Now turn the router off.
      Wait, 1 min.
      Restart the router and await a sync.
      Log back into the Router and check the logs.

      Can you see any errors in the log?

      My personal experience with Sky Technical Support was a suprise, as they were fantastic. Logged my problem on a Sunday e.g. lower sync than normal and the call was immediately passed to tier 3, who called the following day and then called again 3 days later, to quote that the fault had been fixed. Still that's only my own experience.

      Good Luck, I hope the suggestions above work. I suspect Sky will go through something like this on the phone.
      Last edited by Helpmeplease; 15-09-07 at 06:12 PM.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      might be worth talking to CS t see if there's a block order on ur account...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      Well heres a little something for you guys to help me out with, i gave my username and password details to my brother who entered them into his router, and hey presto, his internet is back on instantly. So it looks like his username/password is being blocked out.

      Why would this happen?

      At the moment we are both using the same username and password at different addresses, would sky clock onto this?

      What do you suggest i do now that i know what the problem is?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      Have you tried his details in your router? That would confirm that theory.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      I have tried his details in my router, and it doesnt work. looks like he's off their system for some really strange reason. Yet they are happy to take his money for it. im sure its a problem that will take a couple of mins to rectify

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Fellow users of skyuser, i need your help!

      no it won't - if it's a block on his MAC address then first confirmation is needed to the Abuse team to prove there is no issues before they'll reinstate the MAC address...

      as i said previously - call customer services and they can check if there's a block order against his account. It may be there isn't one listed but is still being blocked but its worth checking...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION