Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Am I on interleaved?

    This is a discussion on Am I on interleaved? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've been on Max for just over a week now and am very pleased. I sync at the ...

    1. #1
      Anomie's Avatar
      Anomie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am I on interleaved?

      Hi all,
      I've been on Max for just over a week now and am very pleased. I sync at the full rates and can get around 14 Mb/s download speeds from sites like speedtest.net and thinkbroadband.
      I obtained my router stats using the mognuts utility and this informed me that I was on Channel = fastpath (or something like that). I seem to remember reading that, in actuality, this was a router bug or something and that really I was on interleaved. Someone suggested that all new people get put on interleaved? However, I noticed that someone on here posted stats where Channel was equal to Fast.
      Should I be bothered eitherway? I don't play games online, so would it make a difference for the better? The last thing I want is loads of errors and my sync dropping off!!

      Thanks everyone,
      Graham


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      My line was activated on the 12th and my D-Link router (which is sync'ing perfectly with Sky's equipment) is reporting "Channel: Fast", so I don't think it's the case that all new connections are put on interleaved.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      every connection is interleved - the stats saying Fast is a bug cause Sky dont use it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      every connection is interleved - the stats saying Fast is a bug cause Sky dont use it...
      On both the Netgear and the D-Link routers?

      (Not implying that that's impossible of course, they may well use the same chipset).

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      IF you were on Fast, you'd show downstream of 8000, upstream of 1000.....there are the odd few who are on Fast but they're changed as soon as they're found
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Anomie's Avatar
      Anomie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      Thanks guys,
      Is there any advantage in trying to get the depth of onterleave switched down a bit. I.E. would it effect download speeds or web page loading times? Needless to say my pings are not great but does better latency help anything other than online gaming?
      Thanks for your help,
      Graham
      PS My latest stats are:
      Latest 1 day time = 23 hours 46 min 10 sec
      SF = 5344577
      CRC = 36
      LOS = 21
      LOF = 0
      ES = 50

      Are these a bit high?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      there's no level of interleved' - its fast or interleve as settings....

      the latency can be lowered vie max delay settings but id work on getting ur line sorted first - and even then if u dont game u wouldnt notice it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      petermk's Avatar
      petermk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: burslam
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: sky +hd
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      stoke
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      am sorry there to correct you there is a level of interleaved it runs in 8.16.32.64 so on interleaved depth it called
      Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme Edition QX6850,Asus Maximus Formula Intel X38 Thermaltake ToughPower 1200W Modular Power SupplyPSU,
      GeIL 4GB (4x1GB) PC8500C5 1066MHz Black Dragon DDR2 Dual Channel Kit, 750GB X 2 SATA2 RAID 0 HDDs, DVD-Writer, BFG GeForce 295 GTX HDTV/Dual DVI (PCI-Express, XFI 7.1 Audio, Gigabit LAN,
      Connected @ 15.7mbit on SkyMAX
      O.S WINDOWS 7 32.BIT

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      the max delays then?...

      if so, then yeah lowering them to 8/16 will speed up the line on interleve (didnt actualy know that they were the interleve sertings as they're the same for ADSL2+)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Anomie's Avatar
      Anomie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I on interleaved?

      Thanks again folks,
      So am I right in thinking (so far) that if I could get them to drop my level of interleave I might get slightly higher download speeds? However, might I also get more line errors, leading to a drop in sync. (no thanks!)
      Cheers again,
      Graham

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION