Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    SkyBB Max..Does this make sense?

    This is a discussion on SkyBB Max..Does this make sense? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; can i ask what do you expect sky to do. THEY CANT DO ANYTHING, its your line which is at ...

    1. #11
      Paul10590's Avatar
      Paul10590 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      can i ask what do you expect sky to do. THEY CANT DO ANYTHING, its your line which is at fault. It has gone to the limits it can, why are you moaning, you have a great speed!! Sky can't wave a magic wand and make your line faster when its already operating at its maximum specs!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      SkyLost1984's Avatar
      SkyLost1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It may seem like a good speed to you, but when i have been told by them catergorically that im not operating correctly, then im not gonna sit back and at least try and get more for my money. And considering I was getting bulldog for free cos of a **** up on their part before (all be it with a fairly low dl limit), now that im paying 10 quid a month, i expect at least the speed i was getting on bulldog, which im not.
      im not saying that what i have is bad, but i want the best i can get and what i pay for, and i want it sorted quickly cos if i cant get anything faster then i may as well be paying 5 quid less.
      If i was receiving line stats that indicated i couldnt do better, then i wouldnt complain, but seeing as they estimate i can get better, at least 3 meg better, then whats the harm in trying.
      I came to this forum cos you all seemed really helpful, but posts like that dont help.

      To everyone who has helped, thank you very much
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 13-09-06 at 11:22 PM. Reason: added name to post ;-)

    4. #13
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Can you post your line stats?

    5. #14
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Mr unregistered please can you reigister so we can keep track of your posts as it will get confusing if another unregistered user posted here
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    6. #15
      SkyLost1984's Avatar
      SkyLost1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      OK all registered, sorry about that.
      Right my stats:

      Downstream:
      Sync: 7640
      Attenuation: 26dB
      Noise Margin: 23dB

      Up:
      Sync: 768
      Attenuation: 14dB
      Noise Margin: 14dB

    7. #16
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your SNR is quite high which is most likely the reason you are syncing so slow. Other users here with an attenuation of 25+ are easily syncing at 15323kbps.

      Repeatitive question time.

      Have you tried the master, test and extension sockets, with and without filters?
      What is your distance from the exchange?
      Is your router firmware hacked, and have you tried manually changing the snr via telnet?

    8. #17
      SkyLost1984's Avatar
      SkyLost1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for the reply
      I live about 1.17 k from the exchange
      Ive tried all the sockets, with and without filters. I have the nte5 adsl faceplate on the master, plus have tried removing the bell wire.
      I havent tried manually changing the snr as I wasnt aware you could get into telnet with standard sky firmware (not i havent replaced the fw)
      Thanks

    9. #18
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It is odd to Sync so high on ADSL2+ usually the target SNR is below 10.

    10. #19
      SkyLost1984's Avatar
      SkyLost1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hold on..i just checked again, i must have read something wrong..
      my downstram noise margin is 16.6 at the moment. Sorry!
      Is noise margin exactly the same as SNR?

    11. #20
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes, it's the same thing. The lower the better in terms of speed

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION