Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Cancelling Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Cancelling Sky Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by pf117 Yeah. I play Counterstrike 1.6 and source. Anyone else managed to leave within 12 months? Cheers ...

    1. #11
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,842
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by pf117 View Post
      Yeah. I play Counterstrike 1.6 and source.

      Anyone else managed to leave within 12 months?

      Cheers

      No but have you done any investigation as to why your connection is so bad?
      It appears some users are on fastpath me included on ADSL2+ and I have been since I joined last November.
      It might be worth posting your detailed stats to see if we can spot any problems. Use the proceedure below.

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      I have a feeling that from the experiences of the poor buggers from the Pelshall exchange that for some people there is a dodgy intermediate jump to their game servers causing higher pings but depending on what exchange you are on depends which server route you take to get to the server.

      I may have to start a thread and see if we can get some data on this....

    4. #13
      pf117's Avatar
      pf117 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      Here is the output from the link:-

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 384 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6112 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.3 7.0
      Attn(dB): 31.0 17.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 6720 448
      Rate (Kbps): 6112 384
      G.dmt framing
      K: 192(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 192 13
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0829 17.1428
      L: 1544 112
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4231434 4231432
      SFErr: 69 0
      RS: 287737542 17983586
      RSCorr: 49952052 24
      RSUnCorr: 1213 0

      HEC: 69 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1036949424 0
      Data Cells: 5987953 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 46 0
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 19 hours 59 min 23 sec
      SF = 4231434
      CRC = 69
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 1 day time = 19 hours 59 min 23 sec
      SF = 4231434
      CRC = 69
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 23 sec
      SF = 50755
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      From the messages on this forum, and the response I received from Sky I was under the impression that Sky utterly refused to remove interleaving from the line? I assume this is the reason that my ping is much increased in comparison to my previous ISP - as such I haven't spent much time investigating anything. I am confused how some people appear to have fast path?

      Cheers

      Pete
      Last edited by pf117; 13-09-07 at 11:47 PM.

    5. #14
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      your line is the problem, not so much the errors but the fact that on an attenuation of 31 you only have 6mbs, This could be due to some sort of bad wiring your end, or a line fault.

      My attenuation is 28 on an interleaved connection and i ping 37ms to bbc.co.uk and sync at 10mbs because my line and wiring is good.

      I would check out your wiring and extensions, And just a side note, if you were to be on adsl2+ and on fastpath your conneciton would be alot worse untill you solve the line issues.

      Ian
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      if you were to be on adsl2+ and on fastpath
      Which you wont be as you are on MID, if your details are correct.

      Your SNR is very low, you should follow the guidance on the forum to get this up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      and sky dont use Fastpath - anyone found to be on it gets removed straight away...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      pf117's Avatar
      pf117 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cancelling Sky Broadband

      I am plugged directly into the master socket - not through an extension. Using ethernet connection not wireless.

      I am not particularly bothered about the speed which I sync (I am not a heavy downloader) - I was with Nildram for over a year synching around 6mb on fastpath with 30-35 pings on UK servers.

      The only things to have changed are router, ISP - and I assume most importantly interleaving. My connection was actually interleaved on Nildram for a short time and the pings were much lower than currently (around 50-60 instead of 70-80 here). Aside from checking the wiring in the main socket, I fail to see how I could improve things at my end. I doubt that Sky will consider this a line fault, and as such are unlikely to take any action to help the situation?

      Thanks for the help!

      Pete

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION