Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Didn't I have a green number before?

    This is a discussion on Didn't I have a green number before? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Am connected to sky router using an ethernet cable. At current time broadband works fine but the '1' on my ...

    1. #1
      Muppet13's Avatar
      Muppet13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leigh on Sea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Didn't I have a green number before?

      Am connected to sky router using an ethernet cable. At current time broadband works fine but the '1' on my router (indicating the ethernet cable from my computer is attached to the 1 LAN socket on the router) is amber. I'm sure it used to be green. Internet appears to be working fine - have I got a problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      I connect via this way and my number is green.

    4. #3
      Ryker's Avatar
      Ryker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      It should be green. Try a different socket number, this will check the LAN connection to the router. and PC.
      ... The dead only know one thing, that it is better to be alive! ...

    5. #4
      Muppet13's Avatar
      Muppet13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leigh on Sea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      Have tried a different socket and number is still yellow. Broadband seems to be working fine though! Have rebooted router also

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      mm never seen that before, 2 of my ports 2&4 stopped working today - dont light up at all, 1&3 light up green and still work ok, could be faulty leds i supose as i think the same led is used for both colours


    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      Could be wrong but I have a feeling that amber means the LAN connection is running at 10mbps rather than 100?

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      as sat says that could be it , i was sure the leds could show 2 colours
      maybe you need to check your network cards settings ?
      Last edited by dholdi; 11-09-07 at 12:33 AM.


    9. #8
      skytsat1's Avatar
      skytsat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      try another ethernet cable
      if still amber get a replacement 1 they r better than the 1s sky first send u out garde A router
      if it turns green get a new cable

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Could be wrong but I have a feeling that amber means the LAN connection is running at 10mbps rather than 100?
      ^ correctamondo!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Didn't I have a green number before?

      try another ethernet cable
      if still amber get a replacement 1 they r better than the 1s sky first send u out garde A router
      if it turns green get a new cable
      Don't waste your time or money, listen to Saturday and read the Manual page 106 Check your NIC, as has already been suggested.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION