Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

    This is a discussion on Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Base SKY wifi user. IE7, I believe updated at time of installing SKY on disk. I regularly use PPV WIFI ...

    1. #1
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      Base SKY wifi user. IE7, I believe updated at time of installing SKY on disk. I regularly use PPV WIFI in hotels without an ounce of trouble.

      I've successfully connect to WIFI unit in house but Browser REFUSES to use it to connect to internet.

      I'm not a technophobe and have tried every permetation of settings to no avail.

      Could someone recommend something to me. Step-by-step.

      I've tried Firewall etc.

      My next plan is to uninstall and start again.

      Any better ideas before close of play. WINDOWS XP by the way on Dell LAPTOP


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      Have you logged onto the router (192.168.0.1 ,user admin, pw sky) and checked it's actually connected and the DSL line is active and working ?

      Since you've got wi-fi connection in the house this is the most likely issue.

      Can you ping and traceroute to say news.bbc.co.uk ?

      HTH,
      Neil

    4. #3
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      When I asked this question elsewhere someone said I could do all that while on-line here at work.

      I did it and it successfully pinged, send packets etc. No problem.

    5. #4
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      If you were at work you would've gone via a router at work that might just share the same addressing.

      The 192.168 address range is not routed on the internet (like the 10 range) so I'd be surprised if you could connect to your home router.

      To test your Sky router you'd need to be at home and connected to it on the local network. Unless you knew the WAN (adsl) address and had configured the router to allow it to be accessed and controlled across the internet.

      Then check the above.

    6. #5
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      Sorry if this is a silly question, but how do I check on my local network if I'm not on line at home, or is the local network actually a reference to my laptop offline?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      Is the router actually connecting to the internet? Do all the lights on the front light up as they should? ie Power light, wireless light and internet light. If they are, is the router being given an IP, if it is you will see something like this on the status page -
      MAC Address 00:16:4B:73:89:61
      IP Address
      90.223.5.96
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask
      255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.251.7
      Domain Name Server
      90.207.238.97
      87.86.189.16

      If you see dashes instead of addresses, you are not connecting.

      It is always better to set things up and do checks through the ethernet connection. If you have an ethernet connection on your laptop, try connecting with this first.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      It was connecting, excellent signal etc but the browser wouldn't use it or recognise it. Despite no probs with wifi in hotels etc.

      Now I've tried to instal again, without deleting, using ethernet cable and now IT'S requesting a WEP password which I don't have on the little card you get with it for remembering the SSID etc.

      Stuck.

      DP

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      The key is also printed on the label on bottom of the router.
      Because you are connecting to the router with a strong signal does not mean you are connecting to the web, only the LAN.

      EDIT. Just noticed you say you are connecting with the cable, it will be the router username password that is being requested.. These are admin and sky respectively.
      Last edited by Isitme; 10-09-07 at 02:08 PM. Reason: Added info

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      DavidPayne's Avatar
      DavidPayne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      I don't know if I connected with the ehternet or not, sorry my IT confidence is shot to t**** with this.

      I'm planning to have s tab tonight, any more help?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Base User: Connected: Browser Wont Use Wifi

      It could be that although you plugged in the ethernet it is still trying to connect by Wireless. Disable the wireless card temporarily.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION