Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband activated but no router!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi My line has been switched to Sky mid Broadband (I was previously on Plusnet) but I still haven't received ...

    1. #1
      detritus's Avatar
      detritus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Hi

      My line has been switched to Sky mid Broadband (I was previously on Plusnet) but I still haven't received my Router. I already have a Netgear DG834GT wireless router (the same one that Sky uses), is there any way I can configure this to connect to Sky? I have been sent a username and password and tried that but it didn't work (was getting a CHAP failure or something).

      Called Sky and apparently, due to a 'technical problem', it is going to take another 5-10 working days!

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      thats a bugger,

      you cannot do anything without the new router as it has user and password embedded

      hppefully you will get your router in less time than they suggested

    4. #3
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Do you actually have to use sky's router before you can extract the username etc?

      Or can you extract it immediately after taking it out of the box and connecting it to the pc?

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Do you actually have to use sky's router before you can extract the username etc?

      Or can you extract it immediately after taking it out of the box and connecting it to the pc?
      It may work straight away but I would advise connecting the Sky router first so it can register on the Sky network otherwise they might smell a rat, its against there T&C's not to use there router.

    6. #5
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      OK.

      Good advice I suppose!


      dog-man

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      as mentioned on other post - why not just use the Sky one? It's not as bad as people say, most are just to stubborn as they're splashed out cash on another router and don't wanna see it as a waste of money!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      when i got moved to sky broadband max, from plusnet also, i had 3 letters, from sky one with activation date, one with username and another letter with the password for the username. try the username plus password from letters, and see if you can connect, then wait to get new sky router, then use that from then on.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      the username/password in the letters are ur webmail logins and will NOT work for net access...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Not received any letters yet with passwords or usernames yet!

      At least sky are consistent!

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      have u rang Sky to just to check it's all gone through? could possibly be an issue with the MAC from ur previous ISP perhaps?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION