Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband activated but no router!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; sky won't send the router, until the 30 connection fee is payed, i think. It could be a payement issue?? ...

    1. #11
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      sky won't send the router, until the 30 connection fee is payed, i think. It could be a payement issue?? or even a MAC problem, like iamnotheenamy says.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Rang them yesterday.

      they said that due to a technical problem their computers had not been sending letters to the router suppliers for recent new customers.

      I asked if they could tell em when I am likely to receive the router and they could not say but guessed about 4 or so days.

      they confirmed that today is my likely acivation date, so probally (hope not) sometime later today, I will lose Internet access.

      I am not impressed with their service so far!


      dog-man

    4. #13
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Nothing to do with payment.

    5. #14
      neh0's Avatar
      neh0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      My previous service was disco'd on Monday and an Easynet tag placed on the line.

      ParcelForce delivered the router Weds morning and I was online and working about 15 minutes later

      Bit of a downer not having a router for 2 days

    6. #15
      pmoule's Avatar
      pmoule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Just spoke to Sky and there is a major problem with their supply of routers, I signed up on 30th Aug my line is due to migrate on Tuesday (11th Sep), I've been told it is unlikely I'll get router in time and that I will be without broadband until I receive it, this is likely to be at least 1 week.

      Is this reasonable? I had been told by Sky that at most I would be without broadband for a few hours but as soon as you pay the setup fee the problems begin and now it sounds like a week, is this usual?

      I've been told I can cancel today but will this but in time to stop my line getting transfered? They then said to sign up again in a few weeks when there supply issues should be resolved, how can you find out when this will be as they are not very forthcoming with information?

      Not even migrated yet and already havin problems I had hoped the scare stories I'd heard about Sky BB were just afecting a small minority but apperently not looks like they are struggling to provide an acceptable service.

    7. #16
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by pmoule View Post
      I had been told by Sky that at most I would be without broadband for a few hours but as soon as you pay the setup fee the problems begin and now it sounds like a week, is this usual?
      Nope it is not unusual, for some reason Sky seem unable to send these routers out once you have placed your order and paid your activation fee. It happened to me, my brother and countless other people.

    8. #17
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      possibly it could be due to postal strikes n stuff, could that be it? must a few local strikes going on somewhere, or sumthin.

    9. #18
      unity's Avatar
      unity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      Dont want to pour water on your bommy, but i have recieved 2 routers from sky, just waiting to be connected over a month now and no sighn, they keep saying that my mac code is dud. Ive given them 2 If anyone wants a sky router ive got a spare

    10. #19
      The_Fellowship's Avatar
      The_Fellowship is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNGHL - Gants Hill
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      i'm still waiting for my router too...was suppose to arrive by today (Friday) but no sign of it...
      Last edited by The_Fellowship; 07-09-07 at 11:07 PM.

    11. #20
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband activated but no router!!!

      I'd be very careful as they could both be linked to your account and if they realise that they could say you break their T & C's I could be wrong but is it worth risking ?

      I realise it may be fine as it may not register to your account until connected but still.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION