Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

    This is a discussion on Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, im a complete newbie so please be gentle =) I have had sky broadband for about 2 weeks ...

    1. #1
      Inn3r-Child's Avatar
      Inn3r-Child is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      Hi there,
      im a complete newbie so please be gentle =) I have had sky broadband for about 2 weeks now and the speed is just about bearable during the day but of an evening i cant even web browse let alone play online games. As of today its just as bad during the day now, I have used the optimizer tool and its running a bit better, enough so for me to register and make this post.

      Anyway as the title says my internet is running quite slow and sometimes cuts out for no longer than about 10 seconds at a time, some days it happens once or twice, other days maybe about 7 times an hour. Until using that tool I couldn't get past the ping stage on Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test which gave me 628ish. Sky have said my line can handle 6meg.

      Any advice woud be more than welcome. Im using wireless as the only phone connection in the house is the opposite end of the house, I am using one of the provided microfilters and I have a built in wireless card as oppose to a dongle. Hope this narrows it down a bit.




      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5632 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 20.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.8 0.9
      Max(Kbps): 10272 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 5632 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 177(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 177 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0898 17.0666
      L: 1424 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4766267 4766265
      SFErr: 12 18
      RS: 324106160 20256626
      RSCorr: 2888616 174
      RSUnCorr: 52 0

      HEC: 9 18
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1076284687 0
      Data Cells: 3285945 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 15 0
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 22 hours 30 min 59 sec
      SF = 4766267
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 30 min 59 sec
      SF = 4766267
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      Latest 15 minutes time = 59 sec
      SF = 3529
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by Inn3r-Child; 07-09-07 at 10:17 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Inn3r-Child View Post
      Im using wireless
      It looks like that's your problem. Wireless is an unreliable means of connection at the best of times and the Sky router doesn't have a particularly good wireless performance. You may find improvements by experimenting with different wireless channels and small changes in positioning of the router and aerial. Also, keep the router well away from other electrical devices, particularly Dect phones. You'll find discussion of wireless problems in the wireless forum.

      Moving on to your stats, you are synced at 5632kbps and have a massive noise margin of 20.7db. Looking at this in conjunction with your attenuation and router max rate I can see that your connection has been capped by Sky beyond the normal capping of 8096kbps for the Mid package. Your line is generating few errors but that's to be expected with the noise margin you've been given. There is nothing in your stats to suggest a reason for your connection problems so that further supports wireless as being the culprit.

      When you've sorted your wireless problems (if possible that is - you may have to go wired) then have a look at the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems.

      HTH

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      hi there,

      it's worth looking at the forums (top left of screen)

      there are a few things you can do (wireless is a bit hit and miss with sky router) also check out Upnp advice and face plate

    5. #4
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      you could get a 20m or more router cable(depends how far away your router is away from main socket) from router to microfilter, saving you the bother of using wireless conection.

      Or get a new faceplate, with adsl socket built in, then just get the same 20m or more router cable(depends how your router is away from your main socket) no microfilter then needed..

      and I notice your mognuts stats say your on G.DMT, go to Sky.com - Customer Support>Contact Us>Kana Form, to email them and ask them to upgrade you line to adls2+ mode. But don't do this until after you've got the longer router cable or faceplate connected.
      Last edited by jdsimp1234; 07-09-07 at 10:51 AM.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      and I notice your mognuts stats say your on G.DMT, go to Sky.com - Customer Support>Contact Us>Kana Form, to email them and ask them to upgrade you line to adls2+ mode.
      And a waste of time that would be - he's on Mid.

      Apart from that, with an attenuation of 39db, moving to 42+db on ADSL2+, he'd get little speed benefit (assuming he moved to Max and sorted his line problems) and probably a less stable connection.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      you could get a 20m or more router cable(depends how far away your router is away from main socket) from router to microfilter, saving you the bother of using wireless conection.

      Or get a new faceplate, with adsl socket built in, then just get the same 20m or more router cable(depends how your router is away from your main socket) no microfilter then needed..

      and I notice your mognuts stats say your on G.DMT, go to Sky.com - Customer Support>Contact Us>Kana Form, to email them and ask them to upgrade you line to adls2+ mode. But don't do this until after you've got the longer router cable or faceplate connected.
      do that and you'll have even more issues probably!!! get a longer ethernet cable instead and use the existing dsl cable to run from filter to router....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Inn3r-Child's Avatar
      Inn3r-Child is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      Thank you for all the responses, the main thing that confuses me is we had broadband via Virgin Media throug hthe phone line and it worked 110% the reason we left is peak period it became unstable to say the least, so from what I can gather then I will need to run a cable from downstairs in the kitchen through the middle of the house over and up the stairs into my room? I may just have to suffer then because im renting the room the person im renting from isn't willing to mess around with wires all over the house since the dog got at them last time.

      As for the capping is it worth speaking to sky about that, should I be capped? I know what it means I just don't want to call up and make a fool of myself.

      Edit:
      This is what I get when wired (still using my laptop just took it down stairs)


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5632 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 20.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.8 0.9
      Max(Kbps): 10272 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 5632 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 177(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 177 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0898 17.0666
      L: 1424 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5659909 5659907
      SFErr: 13 32
      RS: 384873828 24054604
      RSCorr: 2890064 348
      RSUnCorr: 70 0

      HEC: 10 26
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1278067859 0
      Data Cells: 3687883 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 16 0
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 1 days 2 hours 44 min 11 sec
      SF = 5659909
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 44 min 11 sec
      SF = 579530
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 11 sec
      SF = 50108
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5080379
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Last edited by Inn3r-Child; 07-09-07 at 02:07 PM.

    9. #8
      Inn3r-Child's Avatar
      Inn3r-Child is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      I have also found randomly im unable to access websites?

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      was the web better now wired to downstairs as opose to wireless upstairs ?
      i thought VM is cable not phone wire ?

      what now are you trying to get ? (speed / connection / ect )

      why do you want to be capped

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky 8Meg - Cutting out - Crawling Speeds

      alot of people are finding various sites they cannot access (see other threads)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION