Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Constant Disconnections

    This is a discussion on Constant Disconnections within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello all! I'm new to the forum having only recently been activated by sky (yesterday after a 2 week wait ...

    1. #1
      dec0ded's Avatar
      dec0ded is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Constant Disconnections

      Hello all!

      I'm new to the forum having only recently been activated by sky (yesterday after a 2 week wait AFTER my activation date)! Although I have no been connected (finally) I am finding the connection to be extremely unstable. I am on the MAX package in the Cheltenham area (around a mile from the exchange) and my current stats are below..

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3776 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 28.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.1 10.1
      Max(Kbps): 4224 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 3776 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 119(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 119 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1333 8.6153
      L: 960 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 24345 24343
      SFErr: 33 0
      RS: 827766 206915
      RSCorr: 1265 0
      RSUnCorr: 1029 0

      HEC: 8 0
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3683859 0
      Data Cells: 3051039 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8 0
      SES: 8 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 7 min 21 sec
      SF = 24345
      CRC = 33
      LOS = 42
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 1 day time = 7 min 21 sec
      SF = 24345
      CRC = 33
      LOS = 42
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 21 sec
      SF = 24345
      CRC = 33
      LOS = 42
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      When I checked earlier in the day I had a huge number of CRC errors as well as some fairly large numbers in the other fields.. I will post again once I get a bit more information from the modem.

      (... waits while his modem reconnects after it is kicked offline.. I was online for a whole 8mins..)

      Is this likely to be a problem skys end or my own? There is no way for me to test my line using the master socket as I don't have one! Any information or advice would be great.

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      are you sure you dont have a master socket ?

      have a look in tool & tutorials and you should find what you need

    4. #3
      dec0ded's Avatar
      dec0ded is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      are you sure you dont have a master socket ?

      have a look in tool & tutorials and you should find what you need

      Certain. I'm in a block of flats and all of my sockets are metal faced. I unscrewed them to double check and they're all directly wired. My guess is that the BT gear is in a maintenance room somewhere in the building (which I don't have access too of course).

      *edit*

      updated stats..

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3680 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 28.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.3 9.8
      Max(Kbps): 4000 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 3680 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 116(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 116 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1367 8.6153
      L: 936 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 64043 64041
      SFErr: 95 0
      RS: 2177492 544348
      RSCorr: 2750 0
      RSUnCorr: 3027 0

      HEC: 14 0
      OCD: 5 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 9440213 0
      Data Cells: 5752907 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 17 0
      SES: 17 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 18 min 36 sec
      SF = 64043
      CRC = 95
      LOS = 72
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 1 day time = 18 min 36 sec
      SF = 64043
      CRC = 95
      LOS = 72
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 36 sec
      SF = 12703
      CRC = 71
      LOS = 40
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51340
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 32
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by dec0ded; 06-09-07 at 11:02 PM.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      that does seem a shame,

      it may be better to look into tools and tutorials at the top of website and start from the beginning,
      there are a few thing you can do to hopefully get at least a constant connection and then tweak after (you are only syncing at about 3.5 meg but this could be one of many reasons)

      you can try the phone line test (from landline, there is a number on the site somewhere)
      face plate help (only having 2&5 connected on socket)

      there are lots of other things than can also be done

      i know this is not an answer as such, but more a note that you should be able to improve before phoning sky (which as i sure you have read could either be like pulling teeth or done in one phone call)

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      Errors will cause disconnections but unless they're very high, the disconnections will be every few hours/days not every few minutes. Your stats cover too short a period to be sure what your error level is.

      If you're getting disconnections several times an hour then the first thing to eliminate is the UPnP "bug". Have you turned UPnP off?

      If you're getting disconnections at certain times of day e.g. evenings then look to a falling noise margin as the problem. See the first sticky in my signature.

      If the disconnections are completely random and fairly frequent then it may be intermittent noise spikes either caused by an external influence (e.g. thermostat kicking in) or a wiring/router cable fault.

    7. #6
      dec0ded's Avatar
      dec0ded is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      Thanks for the input guys. As a techie I have been round my house making sure that I have as little line noise as possible (only the modem is currently plugged in) I've tried multiple sockets/microfilers/calbes and nothing has helped the situation (or hindered it further).

      I've disabled UPNP in hope that it helps, could I get a link to information about the "bug"?

      The connection seems to have been stable for a while now, so here is another blob of stats!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3680 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 28.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.3 9.8
      Max(Kbps): 4000 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 3680 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 116(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 116 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1367 8.6153
      L: 936 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 205191 205189
      SFErr: 218 192
      RS: 6976518 1744106
      RSCorr: 9978 338
      RSUnCorr: 6983 0

      HEC: 24 120
      OCD: 6 28
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 30245505 0
      Data Cells: 25616300 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 46 0
      SES: 43 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 58 min 35 sec
      SF = 205191
      CRC = 218
      LOS = 165
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 1 day time = 58 min 35 sec
      SF = 205191
      CRC = 218
      LOS = 165
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 35 sec
      SF = 47990
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 21
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 114
      LOS = 59
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 77
      LOS = 53
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51340
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 32
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11


      I couldn't seem to find the BT line test number on the website, anyone have it handy?

      *edit*
      17070 is the number !
      Last edited by dec0ded; 06-09-07 at 11:50 PM.

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      How many wired are connected to the back of the sockets? Check that only 2 wires are connected, they should be to pins 2 and 5.

    9. #8
      dec0ded's Avatar
      dec0ded is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      How many wired are connected to the back of the sockets? Check that only 2 wires are connected, they should be to pins 2 and 5.
      Was just checking this before I read your post, I actually came back to post a picture of the MESS that is my phone socket! MY GOD! I didn't notice this before as I only quickly opened it up to look for a test plug, but it seems as if every internal line is connected to one singular phone socket (the one Im using).. Could this be a major issue? If so, what should I do about it? Baring in mind I don't own this property, it is rented.. (I guess I could re-attach any wires I remove..)..

      Have a look: DespairsWindow/phoneline - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

      Sorry for the poor quality.. phone camera.. hopefully you can see enough to help..

      Am I correct in thinking I can remove the orange wires and the phone line will not be effected in anyway?

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      Its ok that they all run from one socket but there are 3 terminals connected, you need to ditch the orange wire in all sockets leaving just the white and blue ones connected to pins 2 and 5, the orange is a ring wire which is not required for modern phones and known to cause broadband issues.

    11. #10
      dec0ded's Avatar
      dec0ded is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Disconnections

      Ok done. It seems to have improved things by around 0.5 - 1Mb, which is nice, although at times my connection was hitting this level anyway, so not an amazing improvement!

      Still, better than nothing!

      So, what about these other terminals, will noise from these (despite none of them being attached to anything) not cause issues with my connection? Essentially the EM from around my entire house is being routed right back to the phone socket Im using to connect to.. Is this a normal setup?

      Max(Kbps): 6080 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 5504 768

      compared with..

      Max(Kbps): 4224 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 3776 768

      Thanks for the advice above btw, extremely appreciated!
      Last edited by dec0ded; 07-09-07 at 12:42 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION